Crispy Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed all the tips posted by other users such as pat the edamame dry and turn them halfway through. I even tried the suggestion someone had of putting them back in to crisp after the oven has been turned off. They still came out somewhat chewy, so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Num! I love Edamame and I love roasted vegetables of any kind but never put the two of those things together until now. They never got "crispy", but browned nicely, had a great toasty almost popcorn flavor and were a lovely finger food snack. I used a heavy Circulon cookie sheet that wiped right out after baking, but otherwise I would suggest using parchment like other reviewers suggested. Next time I think I'll grate the Parmesan coarser (I used the finest microplane zester/grater) just for more distinction and Parmesan-Punch. The idea of garlic powder is a good one, think I'll do that next time too. I used a somewhat old bag of edamame that were freezer burned a bit and that affected the quality. Regardless, I enjoyed this snack a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My husband and I always have edamame in the house, but generally just put some salt on it and eat it as is. This was a great change and it was so easy to do! My husband finished off every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli Carver
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made this exactly as stated with less olive oil though. I did not use parchment paper, put them right on the baking sheet and they were SOOOO crispy. Not sure why its not working for others. Love these for a low carb, cal snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Carver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Did not crisp at all. I even used my misto to spray more olive oil on after the 15 minutes, then cooked 10 more minutes. Nothing. They were bone dry too, when I prepared this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The taste was good, but they weren't crunchy. The bits that stuck to the pan and browned were very crisp, but the rest of the bean wasn't. Maybe I'll try sauteing them in a frying pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Oh yeah! I used shelled edamame -- since I buy the big bags at Costco -- and steamed them 3 minutes then shelled them. I towel-dried them, drizzled a tablespoon of oil on them, and then grated parmesan on top with my rotary grater. Using my hands, I tossed them with a pinch of kosher salt until they were all coated well. Then I added more cheese! I didn't measure the cheese, though... I just coated every bean. Then I cooked them for 10 minutes, stirred them, and five minutes more. The cheese is super crunchy and delicious. The bean stays chewy on the inside, so they are like crispy french-fries by comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have a new love! Even my husband loves these. He is a converted health food nut. Heart/lung disease requires it, but he's making a happy converter, because I find things that are good! One suggestion that I have not read, but I didn't read all the comments, is to use *real* fresh grated parmesean cheese, not the powder stuff that one buys in a plastic bottle. It seems as though buying a chunk of *good* parmesean would be more expensive, but you actually use LESS, because there's so much more flavor in the better cheese. Also, using less means that you use less fat. A definite win-win situation. If you're still using the stuff in the plastic jar, try fresh parmesean. You'll wonder why that powder stuff is even called 'cheese'. It's also great on broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I've recently discovered the joys of roasted vegetables. More importantly, I've discovered that my kids seem to eat more veggies when I roast them! They are yummy! So when I found the roasted edamame recipe, it was a no-brainer. I've tried this recipe twice. The first time was so-so--like many others, I liked the end result but it was more chewy than crispy. The second time, I decided to try "pre-cooking" the edamame a bit in the microwave in the hopes of drying them out a bit to help with the crisping process. I followed the directions on the bag and, using half the bag, microwaved it covered in plastic wrap for 2 minutes. I then patted the beans dry before coating them in olive oil and garlic salt and pepper. I roasted in my toaster over for 10 minutes at 400 (without cheese). I stirred the beans, added an Italian cheese blend (what I had on hand) and roasted for another 10 minutes. The cheese was pretty toasted after 10 minutes, and the beans, for the most part, were crunchy this time. Still a little chewy, but that's okay with me. I wasn't going for a "dried" type anyway, so these were good for me. I hate to read where other members threw theirs out because of chewiness. Simply roasting longer would have probably resulted in crunchier beans, albeit maybe burned cheese. :-/ You gotta tweak it until it suits you. I'm sure I'll try something a little different next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
The recipe did not say to dry, just to drain, so I did not dry. I think because of that mine didn't turn out like the picture and I def wouldn't say it was a snack. I would call it a side. That being said it was delicious! I love recipes like this that get me to actually eat something healthy lol. I halved the recipe and used season salt instead of salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Def will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States