Crispy Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are great! In order to make them crispy I baked them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I also spread them out so they would individually brown nicely. Perfect! I will make this again and again! Tastes like popcorn vegetables! (but better than popcorn) Update: I've lost count how many times I've made this. I should add that I don't thaw the edamame, but I just mix the ingredients together with the frozen edamame and place them directly into the oven. That might be why they always turn nice and crispy for me! UPDATE: I've lost count how many times I've made this recipe! I ran out of parchment last night and I decided to add them to a pan coated with Pam. BIG MISTAKE! They turned out soggy, sticky and gross!!! DO NOT baked this on tin foil or directly on the pan. What a mess! This probably explains some low ratings on this dish. ONLY USE A PAN LINED WITH PARCHMENT PAPER:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
815 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I am tired of just steamed Edamame and was happy to find this recipe. It was good. I do think it is easier to mix the oil, garlic, and cheese in a large bowl then add the edamame, put a lid or plastic wrap on it and shake it up. It coats everything better and the cheese doesn't all end up stuck to the baking pan instead of the edamame. This is also good with fresh green beans, peppers, and/or onion slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I love edamame and run out of ways to prepare them. I recommend stirring them halfway through to brown them evenly (mine stuck to the pan). I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I had some problems that other reviewers also mentioned but with some changes would make the recipe much better. After the edamame are thawed I would highly recommend putting them on a towel and patting them dry. When wet they cannot crisp. I had to keep them in the oven for a longer time. I also do not recommend using freshly grated parmesan cheese or increasing the amount then. The edamame did not get coated like in the photo. These changes will greatly help the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was our first edamame experience and I'm happy to say it was a very nice one. I did add some garlic and onion powders. The family really enjoyed this side, altho hubby thought he was eating lima beans. Go figure! Thank you Sophia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I love this idea, but mine didn't get crispy - more like chewy. But still taste-wise they were excellent! Made one batch as is, and another I used taco seasoning (wow, was THAT tasty!) Will play around with cooking temps and times to see if I can get the end result I was hoping for - basically drying them out a bit more so they get some crunch to them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My God these were amazing!! First bite into them they immediately reminded me of these french fries I used to order at a certain restaurant, with that perfect balance of crispness and chewiness. I only made a half recipe first time around, patted them dry after thawing, used garlic salt, fresh cracked pepper from a pepper mill, and rest of ingredients on list. I had to bake mine for around 22-24 minutes instead to get them to crisp up, but thats what made them have the perfect texture. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Hmmmm...did all the tricks, suggested by others...dried it well, baked longer...they stayed chewy, cheese started to burn...not what I was hoping for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
YUMMY! took another reviewer's advice and stirred them halfway through baking time! also added garlic powder! delicious and pretty healthy snack or side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Crispy Edamame Haiku: "Fail edamame. Tasty soy beans made chewy. I'd rather them steamed." I went w/ many of the reviewers' suggestions and tossed the (well drained, patted dry) edamame in a bag w/ the oil, cheese, s&p. Spread on parchment, and attempting to stir half-way thru resulted in all of the edamame sticking, clumpy cheese, paper tearing, and an oily mess. Salvaged what I could on a fresh piece of wax paper and continued baking, but they never got even remotely crispy. They were OK tasting right out of the oven, but a little while later at room temperature, the texture was terrible and I sadly tossed the rest out. It was fun to try a new way to prepare edamame, but I think that I'll stick to a simple s&p steam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States