Crispy Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Taste great but I think I'll bake it a little longer next time for a crispier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
also added minced garlic and red pepper flakes....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was fabulous! I've only had steamed edamame with sushi, so I didn't know it could be so flavorful! Next time I will buy a bag already shelled, even though it didn't take too long to shell them. I rinsed them off and patted them dry with a paper towel before I put olive oil and cheese on them. I used a grated parmesan/garlic blend. They ended up crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I loved them that way! Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have to say no one liked it here... Could be my preperation. I would prefer to use edamame in stir fries and salads vs this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
THE BIGGEST THING TO REMEMBER: THIS RECIPE DOES NOT KEEP SO ONLY MAKE WHAT YOU WILL EAT. I think that was my biggest problem other than using too much oil and not patting the beans dry enough. Mine turned out mostly chewy with some crisp and the flavor was okay until I read these reviews and sprinkled garlic powder over the beans. Then they were fantastic! My advice would be to not thaw the beans with water or not thaw them at all, use a pan with a cookie sheet, toss the beans with the ingredients including garlic powder in a bowl, and broil them on high for an extra minute after cooking. Mine were kind of a mess but they tasted really good, the only thing is I made the entire bag and then had to eat all the beans because they were getting soggy and I hate wasting food. Only make half the bag if you are the only one eating these. Other than that, I will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
'Baking now ... 'Getting ready (preparing food that will spoil once the power is off) for ice storm. That bag of edamame hasn't been in there forever, but it was long enough to get icy inside the bag. I rinsed lightly, just enough to get the babies loose. Put them a la naturel on a foil-lined pan for 15 @ 425. That dried them better than I could (since I wouldn't ;o). Poured 'em in a bowl with the T olive oil & with sprinkled granulated garlic & salt. 'Back in the 425 oven for 10, turned down to 400 for 10 more. 'Still took longer to crisp, but good. For some reason, I wasn't expecting these to brown, which they did, & should. If they're green, they aren't going to be crispy. They'll be chewy. I don't know that I'll make these again, but they're good & I'm glad I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Baked it about six minutes longer. Used my Silpat sheet. This was good. I expected crispier. But I would not say it is "chewy". I think this would be good added to a roasted vegetable dish (like with cauliflower, sweet potatoes, onions, garlic, broccoli, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
As another reviewer suggested, I used parchment paper and did not thaw the edamame. These were delicious, even my 18 month old that refuses to eat any vegetables loved these! They had more of a french fry texture, not really crispy and soft in the middle. This is going to be a go to recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed all the tips posted by other users such as pat the edamame dry and turn them halfway through. I even tried the suggestion someone had of putting them back in to crisp after the oven has been turned off. They still came out somewhat chewy, so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Num! I love Edamame and I love roasted vegetables of any kind but never put the two of those things together until now. They never got "crispy", but browned nicely, had a great toasty almost popcorn flavor and were a lovely finger food snack. I used a heavy Circulon cookie sheet that wiped right out after baking, but otherwise I would suggest using parchment like other reviewers suggested. Next time I think I'll grate the Parmesan coarser (I used the finest microplane zester/grater) just for more distinction and Parmesan-Punch. The idea of garlic powder is a good one, think I'll do that next time too. I used a somewhat old bag of edamame that were freezer burned a bit and that affected the quality. Regardless, I enjoyed this snack a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States