Crispy Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought this was fairly good, 3 or 4 stars, but my husband didn't like it at all. He hated the parmesan combo, which I thought was nice! I LOVED how this dish made the house smell great while baking, I guess it was the olive oil and parmesan. I did take other reviewers' advice to mix everything up in a bowl (I used about 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan, and shakes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder) and spread flat in a pan and stir half way through baking. The dish has a nutty taste, got nice and browned and crispy, and was very filling. And I was pleased to find that the leftovers microwaved quickly and were just as yummy. I will make this again for myself, but my husband won't eat it. You'll have to try it for yourself and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was yummy. I baked for longer than the recipe stated to get them crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
could not get this crispy, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Crip Suzette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
great alternative and good texture if you cook long enough! I patted the beans dry twice before cooking on tin foil on a cookie sheet. I mixed in a bowl before placing on sheet : olive oil, garlic powder, pampered chef garlic/peppercorn rub (their asian season would be great as well!), red pepper, onion powder and reduced fat parmesan--cooked 15 min and then an additional 4-5 after stirring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
simple and quick side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A great snack or side dish. Just make sure to pat the edamame dry after thawing and try to spread them out in 1 layer in the pan so that they aren't overlapping. Doing these 2 things makes sure the edamame get nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Easy! Although this 'dish' does not look so appetizing when it is served, it is a great nibbling snack for those who are looking for a low carb alternative to popcorn and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had a package of frozen edamame to use and had no idea what to do with it (and was not familiar with the ingredient either!) I used this recipe and I am sure the results could have been much tastier had I prepped the edamame better. They stuck to my baking pan (should have used glass?) and didn't crisp very evenly; I may have not used enough olive oil. For the most part the food was scrapped, but I would be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I had some problems that other reviewers also mentioned but with some changes would make the recipe much better. After the edamame are thawed I would highly recommend putting them on a towel and patting them dry. When wet they cannot crisp. I had to keep them in the oven for a longer time. I also do not recommend using freshly grated parmesan cheese or increasing the amount then. The edamame did not get coated like in the photo. These changes will greatly help the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing, although I do look forward to experimenting. My hubby was thoroughly surprised. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States