Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good, but ordinary--nothing unique. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil, and more dill than called for as well. I also added chunks of avocado for added interest. This is good for an idea when you're stumped for some kind of salad to make. Update, 2/09: This time I eliminated the sugar and the vinegar. Used olive oil and a good squeeze of fresh lemon juice instead. Now this I loved! Instead of tangy and sweet it was light and refreshing. A definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Used 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. Used dried dill weed and doubled both it and the pepper. Used only 1/2 the amount of required oil, and used olive. Halved the cucumber lengthwise, peeled and seeded it before slicing it. Subbed homegrown cubed kohlrabi for 1/2 of the cucumber. Increased the onion slightly and decreased the tomato a bit. When all done, I tasted it and added a touch more balsamic vinegar and some cubed avocado pieces. Refrigerated it several hours before serving. This was THE BEST cucumber-type salad I have ever made, and I am sure that it would be excellent as written. However, I would stick with my combo of vinegars. DO try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
Wonderful refreshing light salad! Perfect compliment to any meal. Just as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very refreshing and very good! I used a little more sugar, a little more dill and olive oil instead of veg. oil. You can easily adjust this vinaigrette to your tastes. I used one cucumber that I sliced very thin and next time I'd use an English cucumber. I used half the amount of red onion and sliced that thin as well. I let it set for an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I have made this several times now and it is always a hit. It is so light and refreshing...great on a hot summer day. I cut the unpeeled cucumbers in half lenghwise, then scoop out the seeds. Then I slice the cucumbers about a quarter inch thick. This makes a more interesting shape than regular slicing and removes the seeds. I also use about half of the olive oil. Thanks for a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Actually we would give this a 4.5 rating. It is very tasty and easy. A pleasant side dish and a nice alternative to a lettuce or spinach salad. It is also one that can be made ahead of time. I followed others suggestions of: 1) marinated the cucumber and onion for many hours and added the tomatoes a few hours before serving. 2) Used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar 3) Used half the oil and used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. 4) Cut the cucumber in half legthwise, scooped out the seeds and then sliced in about 1/4 inch slices. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. Delicious with grilled chicken or steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This recipe is great. The first time I made it, the onion I had was really strong. So now I just check the strength of the onion and maybe use less if it is too hot or strong. This is so tasty, it is one of my family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love this recipe! I have made it three times in the past two weeks; it's a great way to use up the abundance of produce in my garden. I add about half the amount of onion (it's still very oniony) and a little more dill. Try letting it sit at room temperature, stirring occasionally, for about an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Being from South NJ, the summer for me always includes jersey tomates, and if you have a garden or know someone with a garden, they are always around. The recipe is easy and everyone in my family loves it. The dill is a nice change of pace and is not too much. Using the apple cider vinegar also makes it not as strong as using white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara M. Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States