Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Loved it! Mixed all but cukes to marinate early, adding tomatoes last half hour. I also used less onion for the kids' sakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe as written the first time I made it and thought it was good. The dill adds a nice flavor to the salad and provides a twist on the traditional oil and vinegar based cucumber salad. The second time I made it, I used a white balsamic vinegar that I got from Trader Joe's, substituted zucchini for one of the cucumbers, and added a bit more dill and about 4 chopped basil leaves. This salad can be altered by the simple addition of a different herb or a combination of herbs, and it is great served with grilled chicken or BBq ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was delicious -- we made exactly as directed. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The dressing was a little light but besides that, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe. When I make it again, I'll cut the apple cider vinegar because the taste is really strong. We put the salad in pita bread and it was delicious. Thanks for this great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
A good, solid variation on a common theme. I cut the oil to 2 tsp, and increased the dill to 1 tbsp, and it tasted great. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Actually I'd give this a 4.5. I made it for my husband's family reunion and it was a big hit. I followed suggestions for using English cucumbers, scraping out the seeds and cutting into chunks. I also cut the tomatoes into chunks rather than leaving in wedges. I substituted red wine vinegar and olive oil. The fresh dill makes it so good. I've already made it a second time and several people asked me for the recipe. This will be part of my summer salad repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Four stars as is, but I'm a fiend for avocado, so add in one of those and I'd switch it to five stars. Easy to make and great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I've made a few minor changes since making it the first time. I omit the sugar and vinegar (saves on calories & sugar intake). Cut the oil in half (use olive instead of vegetable) and use fresh squeezed lemon (like one reviewer suggested). Also, I found it's easier to use cherry tomatoes instead of slicing large ones. Very light and refreshing... thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
What a great recipe! I had tomatoes and cucumbers all over my kitchen counter when I found this on allrecipes. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States