Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is the best! I added lemon juice and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Pretty good. This was a quick and easy way to use up some of the extra cukes from our garden. Simple and refreshing as a side dish, and tasted even better the next day. My husband used leftovers as a sandwich spread the next day (with turkey and swiss cheese) and raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I mince the onion and fresh dill and always use olive oil. I've made this with cider vinegar, rice vinegar, and white balsamic vinegar. It's all good. I think it tastes much better when it sits over night, one hour isn't enough to me. Can't count how many times I made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
A perfect side dish on this VERY HOT evening. Refreshing and fast. We have a ton of cucumbers in the garden and this recipe will be used again. I left out the red onion (personal taste) and added a small shallot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My hubby said he could eat an entire bowl by himself. I did a few substitutions based on what I had in the house but it was still delish. I used red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar; olive oil instead of vegetable oil; shallots instead of onion, and dried basil instead of dill. Great refreshing salad for summer meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was really just average. I have had better tomato/cucumber salads before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very refreshing and very good! I used a little more sugar, a little more dill and olive oil instead of veg. oil. You can easily adjust this vinaigrette to your tastes. I used one cucumber that I sliced very thin and next time I'd use an English cucumber. I used half the amount of red onion and sliced that thin as well. I let it set for an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is good but nothing extraordinary. I used half balsamic and half red wine vinegar, and olive oil instead of vegetable. Its a refreshing low calorie healthy snack or side dish that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is my favorite salad. I make it almost every day in the summer. However,I never use sugar for it and I always add feta cheese on top when serving. For best results use sweet onion and seedless cucumbers. Be careful with the amount of vinegar you use; general rule is that a salad with tomatoes does not need a lot of vinegar. If you want quick, light meal for the summer add chopped ham, cubed cheese(your choice) mushrooms from a jar, and feta of course. Serve with a loaf of bread and voila-you have a healthy lunch, or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is great. I have made it with cider vinegar and red wine vinegar, and I like the red wine vinegar much better because it has a bit more bite to it. I use olive oil instead of vegetable, and agree with marinating the cucumber and onion overnight before adding tomato. But any leftovers are fine in the fridge and seem to get better for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States