Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
We enjoyed this salad very much, though I had to make a few modifications just because of what I had on hand. I used "salad vinegar" instead of cider, because that is what I had. Also, didn't have fresh dill so I used dried but doubled the amount and also didn't ahve a red onion, so I used a Vidalia (sweet white) one instead. I wish I'd had the red onion, but it was good this way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This recipe really wasn't anything special - I made it exactly as listed, but there was something missing (oh, and I did use fresh dill). Perhaps the flavors together were too simple for me, but others may enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
very good, I served with Chicken lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Oh my gosh! This will be a permanant fixture in our fridge all summer long. I just removed the seeds from the cukes and tomatoes so it won't get mushy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I agree with adding balsamic vinegar. I am not a big fan of the cider vinegars bare taste. Love the cucs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Used 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. Used dried dill weed and doubled both it and the pepper. Used only 1/2 the amount of required oil, and used olive. Halved the cucumber lengthwise, peeled and seeded it before slicing it. Subbed homegrown cubed kohlrabi for 1/2 of the cucumber. Increased the onion slightly and decreased the tomato a bit. When all done, I tasted it and added a touch more balsamic vinegar and some cubed avocado pieces. Refrigerated it several hours before serving. This was THE BEST cucumber-type salad I have ever made, and I am sure that it would be excellent as written. However, I would stick with my combo of vinegars. DO try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is an AWESOME recipe!!! I have also found the "ROMA" tomatoes work much better as they have very little seed pods and liquid and can be cut much quicker and easier!!!! I just quarter them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey "O"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
A very refreshing summer salad to go with chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Pretty tasty. A great light summertime salad or snack. I used 2 tbsp of cider vinegar and 2 tbsp of regular because I like the bit of extra bite it gives. I also used splenda instead of sugar and extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil...will cut this down to 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil next time. Used dried dill but it would have bees so much better with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I have made this recipe lots of times and we really love it! It's wonderful with fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes and cucumbers. It's our favorite summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States