Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Actually we would give this a 4.5 rating. It is very tasty and easy. A pleasant side dish and a nice alternative to a lettuce or spinach salad. It is also one that can be made ahead of time. I followed others suggestions of: 1) marinated the cucumber and onion for many hours and added the tomatoes a few hours before serving. 2) Used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar 3) Used half the oil and used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. 4) Cut the cucumber in half legthwise, scooped out the seeds and then sliced in about 1/4 inch slices. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Delicious!! I normally substitute olive oil for the vegetable oil. Great side for any meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this for a potluck at work tomorrow and I'm afraid it may not make it there! My husband can't resist tomatoes and cucumbers. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Qucik and refreshing summer salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Have made this delicious recipe twice this week: 1x for a dinner party of 14 women and 2 days later at my husbands request. I used Splenda and Apple Cider vinegar. Added extra dill the 2nd time. A wonderful, refreshing, pretty, easy and tasty salad. It's a winner and I'll make it often. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
i used sweet/vidalia onions instead of red, and Splenda instead of Sugar. it turned out very delicious! this is a wonderful summertime recipe and/or potluck salad. easy to make and just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
So good, so fresh, and so simple! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I did not like this salad at all. The flavors just didn't mesh and it was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I thought this salad was wonderful - very light and refreshing. My company and family enjoyed it as well. I made it two nights in a row and used 3 colors of tomatoes, then arranged it neatly on a serving tray. The first time I made the dressing, in my haste I may have used regular white vinegar instead of cider vinegar, I discovered this possible error the 2nd time I made it. I think it would taste great using either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was really refreshing on our hot summer day. Loved the combinations together. Will definately make again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States