Crispy Chipotle Lime Tilapia with Cool Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
It's my recipe, so of course I love it. If you can find the chipotle in adobo in the store, I really suggest using that. I usually take the whole can, peppers & sauce & grind it in the mini chopper. Then I drop tablespoons of it onto a cookie sheet lined with non-stick foil. Pop in the freezer until they are set, & you can pop off the tray into a ziploc & store in the freezer & use as needed. I usually use 2 tablespoons for each chipotle a recipe calls for. You can also stir into into Chili or soups or enchilada sauce for some extra kick. Also, be sure to salt the avocado sauce well, if you think it is bland adjust the salt. If it is not salted, it is just green goo. If you want it spicier, add some of the ground chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
OK, I made this several times since my first try and I still love it; and you have to try it. But just have to tell you a funny stroy - the first time I made it I read the directions wrong and used the whole can of peppers - no wonder it was so hot. But now I did as some one else recommended and freeze them in two tablespoon increments and then when I make it the peppers are ready. ORIGINAL RATING: I saw this recipe and really liked ihow it looked; and then went home last night and made it and am in love. The sauce its GREAT and is not suppose to be like guacamole its a wonderful dressing that really goes nice with the 'hot' spices; a great complement to the dish. The only thing I did different was to add cilantro to the dressing and its great. I have told several people about it already this morning. I WILL make it again. Thanks a lot. PS - I also cooked up the rice from Chipotle's to go with it. Great dinner, if you like spicy you will love it. Just sorry I forgot to make Margarita's it was late when I got home and totally forgot. Its quick and easy to make after a long day at work. : - }
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was quite good! I was skeptical about the avocado sauce after blending it and taking a taste, but with the fish it's really good! I doubled the whole recipe, which made LOTS of sauce, but its okay, it doubles as a sort of dip :) I couldn't find the pepper and adobo sauce, so I followed other's suggestions and substituted Chipotle hot/tabasco sauce. It smelled so good! And I used "Hint of Lime" Tostitos® for the breading for some extra flavor. The only thing i'd say is make a little extra of the salsa blend to drizzle lightly over the fish before the avocado, just for a little extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Made it for the first time tonight.. Worked out real well...my family liked it a lot! Next time I may try using Chipotle Tabasco sauce instead of the canned pepper as it's a little easier to come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This meal was easy to prepare. I liked the crunch and flavor provided by the corn torilla crust, lime and chipotle peppers. My husband and daughter did not like the avocado sauce. If I make this again, I will make guacomole or an avocado salsa instead. Overall this meal was healthy, easy to prepare, and tasted pretty good. Thank you for new way to prepare tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Absolutely perfect. My wife baked this on a cookie sheet in the barbeque grill. Served with corn relish and tortilla chips; drizzled some of the sauce on the chips. A light dinner. Very nice. Thank you, LARANEFF, for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was delicious, especially for someone who likes spicy. I paid attention to a couple of reviews and made some small changes accordingly. I doubled the ingredients for the sour cream sauce, as it doesn't make much. I added cilantro to the sour cream sauce (did it in my food processor and turned the sauce a lovely light green. I had leftover red chipotle pepper sauce after coating the fish, so I put some of that on the baked fish first before serving it, then a dollop of the sour cream/avocado sauce on top of that. It was beautiful as well as tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
love it... a little work intensive with the blender and crushing chips... but if you clean as you cook... not hard to prepare at all. truly delicious, flavorful and different from everyday grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Because avocados are 3 for $1.00 here, I couldn't resist buying a few. Since I had tilapia in the freezer, I searched for recipes using tilapia & avocado. I had everything on hand for this one, so gave it a try. My family's really glad I did. It has a nice kick to it & is easy to make. Do remember to salt & pepper the avocado sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is pretty good! Next time I will grind the chips until they are like cornmeal. The big chunks kinda get soggy and don't crisp up. But still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States