Crispy Chipotle Lime Tilapia with Cool Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The fish was good... I used baked chips but the avocado sauce was gross to me. I scraped it all off my fish. Next time I'll just use guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley View, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I didn't really enjoy this recipe....I think it would have been better without the tortilla chip breading. the flavour of the chips just didn't work right, it was very heavy and seemed to overpower the fish. I think that it would be better using only the spices as a rub and leaving out the breading. Also, I altered the sauce a bit - I just made a lime flavoured tartar sauce. I really liked that and would make it again with a chipotle rubbed pan fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
love it... a little work intensive with the blender and crushing chips... but if you clean as you cook... not hard to prepare at all. truly delicious, flavorful and different from everyday grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Absolutely perfect. My wife baked this on a cookie sheet in the barbeque grill. Served with corn relish and tortilla chips; drizzled some of the sauce on the chips. A light dinner. Very nice. Thank you, LARANEFF, for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was delicious, especially for someone who likes spicy. I paid attention to a couple of reviews and made some small changes accordingly. I doubled the ingredients for the sour cream sauce, as it doesn't make much. I added cilantro to the sour cream sauce (did it in my food processor and turned the sauce a lovely light green. I had leftover red chipotle pepper sauce after coating the fish, so I put some of that on the baked fish first before serving it, then a dollop of the sour cream/avocado sauce on top of that. It was beautiful as well as tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The fish was nice and crispy. Perfect and simple for summer. I can't rate the sauce. I love the yogurt based sauce from Fish Tacos on this site and it taste great on all fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I misread the first ingredient clearly and used the entire can of peppers. Made for a very spicy fish, but with the avocado sauce and rice, it was tolerable. Good thing we like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very good! I used 1/2 the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Seeds and all, we like the extra kick. The avocado sauce was great for me but my husband thought it could use a little extra. Next time I think I will add some cilantro, onion and hot sauce to give him that extra flavor he was looking for. I served this with Mexican rice and corn. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Didn't do the avocado part - but the crispy Tilapia was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
works great with chicken also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States