Crispy Chipotle Lime Tilapia with Cool Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Aside from underestimating the spice-factor of this, I really enjoyed this dish! I modified the method slightly... didn't feel like dirtying extra dishes, and my small food processor is packed (moving soon!), so I just mixed the chipotle/salsa mix in a bowl and brushed on the base of the dish, laid the fish on it, then spread the remaining mix on the fish. I topped with the Lime tortilla chips (YUM!) and baked at 400 for about 15 minute. I didn't feel like having a runnier sauce, so I skipped the milk. To serve, I plated some jasmine rice, topped with the fish, added a little shredded lettuce and sliced onions...with the sauce on the side. Yum! Quick and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe was ok. I am not sure I would use the tortilla chips again. It was definetly a different taste for the tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was so easy and delish! The only thing was the avocado sauce was a bit thick ... BUT together the flavors were amazing! I will be making this again! Each time I make this it gets better and I really don't know how that can be .. Avocado sauce thins out when more milk is added and I leave out the salsa ... use the adobo sauce as a paste and brush on fish and grind chips until they are very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe dictated and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Looking up this recipe was a great idea. This dish is the absolute best recipe I have ever used. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This...was SPICY. Definately not for the sensitive pallet. But that was okay for me. I ran out of the breading so half way through coating the fish, i had to make more. I used cod bc I didn't have tilapia and i used chicken breasts because my boyfriend is not a seafood fan. So...i foiled the pan and sprayed with PAM. Still stuck. and when i flipped the meat over, the bread crumbs fell off. So i scrapped them off the pan and layed ontop of the meat. on to the avocado sauce....weird flavor. I added cilantro hoping that would help. negative. i thought, well maybe it will be awesome on the fish. took it out, plated it and topped with the sauce. garnished with cilantro. Took a bite and NOT A FAN. I don't know what it was. Just....too much spicy (too overpowering for such a delicate fish) and the avocado was just weird. I threw this one out. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is pretty good! Next time I will grind the chips until they are like cornmeal. The big chunks kinda get soggy and don't crisp up. But still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I am not a big fish fan, but I absolutely LOVED this recipe. It was a huge hit with my husband and I. I really liked the spice on the fish and the delicious avocado sauce that cools your palate after the spice. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was a great change to the monotonous beef or chicken meals that we seem to fall prey to. I did not use the chips as we do not eat corn but still it worked out great. LOVED LOVED LOVED the avocado sauce. Next time I will have to warm it up a bit though, it seemed like it was kind of overpowering the warm fish. And as the submitter stated, DEFINITELY use the adobo sauce opposed to a substitute. It made all the difference. I found it very easily at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a big success this evening. I had some difficulty making the sauce (and it did not look at all like the picture....it was green) which was difficult to blend, but the fish turned out great and we loved the chipotle sauce in which it was coated. I used regular breadcrumbs instead of tortilla chips because I had them. Will definitely make this again! [Served with steamed broccoli, pasta side dish, and white wine]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krotz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States