Crispy Chipotle Lime Tilapia with Cool Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by haylstorm
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Soooo good! I put a bit less milk I like the avocado sauce a bit thicker, spicy but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was good, followed the directions exactly, next time will put the chips in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious 5 star tilapia recipe! The only thing I did differently is fry my own tortillas chips and season my adobo mixture before brushing it on my tilapia. Dredging the tilapia in the chips before baking it gives it a nice crisp texture. You can find adobo sauce with peppers at your grocery (next to the canned chilies where the corn tortillas, refried beans, and taco shells are at.) It is like a bbq sauce with a smoky flavor. The avocado sauce really brings the flavors here together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I really wanted to like the flavor of this but it just did not seem to work for us. I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't think that the fish had enough flavor and the crushed tortilla chips were soggier than I wanted. I suppose I could have cooked it longer or broiled it a bit at the end but then the fish would have been way over-cooked. I did like the avocado spread a bit and may steal that for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Was really good. Not nearly as spicy as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Not sure if I messed this recipe up but I did not like the chips....very soggy. Also thought the avocado was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I think I might be in the minority, but, we didn't care for this fish recipe. I crushed the chips and coated the tilapia. After cooking, the crust was chewy and not crunchy. For those of you that want to make it - I would recommend pulverizing the tortilla chips in a blender or food processor. That would probably prevent the "chewy" texture and enable the crust to get crunchy. I also found it very difficult to flip the fish half way. Tilapia is a very delicate fish and it is easy to break apart. The crust was also falling off in places. I had average size tilapia pieces and 25 - 30 minutes would have been way too long to cook the fish. The general rule for well done fish is 10 minutes baking time per inch of fish.. We only needed to cook about 15 minutes total. I did think the avocado sauce was good, but, it seemed like it was missing something. I think cilantro would have brightened up the sauce and gave it that taste I was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Has a nice kick to it, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I added garlic salt to the avocado sauce and used a food processor to make the tortilla chips into a finer crush. I also pureed the salsa and chipotle. In order to prevent from turning the delicate fish while cooking I placed the fish on a cooling rack over a baking sheet prior to baking. This turned out great and the avocado sauce helped balance the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
fish was delicious -- coating and sauce not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States