Crispy Cereal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I have absolutely become addicted to this! I do double the seasonings since we like a little stronger flavor. I also have added 1 teaspoon dried mustard and a dash of paprika. I make a big batch to take on road trips, but it's usually gone before we reach our destination! Thanks for posting Tawny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a good recipe and a clear cost savings over buying the pre-packaged stuff. It's easy to make. I have made this twice, so far. The first time I used the 9 x 13 baking dish, as the recipe advises, and had to divide the mix into two pans to be able to do it. Didn't work very well. This time I used an oven-proof Dutch Oven pan. Each time I stirred the mix every 15 minutes and added 15 minutes to the baking time when using the Dutch Oven because of the depth of the pan. My family would like a bit more flavor/seasoning so will experiment with that. But this is a very good base from which to adjust to suit your individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
A few years ago I started substituting the 'corn on one side, rice on the other' cereal. A box contains over 9 cups, so you get the same great snack w/o having 3 partial boxes of cereal to deal with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
sounds great BUT, bad info or typo. 250 degree F for 1 HOUR!!!! Yikes, charcoal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is almost identical to the traditional chex mix from the Chex cereal box. The only difference is the additional amount of garlic powder. If you like traditional chex mix with a touch more garlic, you'll enjoy this. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I am not sure what you mean by "other version"... But yes it is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Fabulous for on-hand munchies. I put Tony Cachiere's instead of seasoning salt to give it a little kick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I doubt anyone out there makes this the same way. I always add Cheerios to mine, usually double the seasoning and add a little bit more butter, and leave out the nuts and sometimes the pretzels. I did try it this time with Honey Combs, fantastic! What a great idea! I melt the butter and mix the seasonings and pour over the cereal mix, it incorporates better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Its good. but we like a stronger flavor in our snack mix. Going to try doubling the seasoning ingredients and see if that suits our tastes more. It is yummy, the flavors used work well! Just not as potent as we personally like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Made this for my husband to take to a review session at school. Big hit, everyone loved it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States