Crispy Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Note: The five star rating, just as I had suspected when I made these, is Hubs,' not mine. These cookies are light and crispy, but ungodly sweet because of the butterscotch chips - right up his alley! He liked these sooo much that they've even taken over his first place Oatmeal Scotchies, which have been his favorite for at least 20 years. Reducing the sugar in the recipe as some reviewers have done, is NOT going to make these less sweet but might, in fact, change the quality of the dough, which is perfect. I personally couldn't stand these, but then I don't care for butterscotch chips - but I will look forward to making this same cookie with semi-sweet chocolate chips because I think they'll be awesome good! In the meantime, Hubs has had four of these immediately after supper, which he never does...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Perfect! This cookie is just what I was looking for - crispy, chewy and sweet. 12 minutes was plenty of time for my oven; make sure they aren't overcooked because they easily become too crunchy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was a great cookie...my husband loves bitterscotch chips and I love the cookie batter without brown sugar...it was crisp, sweet and slightly salty. I tried the recipe the next day but added white chocolate adn craisins instead! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Deliciously light and airy! Made some changes: decreased sugar to 2/3 cup, baking time of 10 minutes, decreased chips to 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This recipe is great. Any time I bring it to parties everyone always wants the recipe. I add 1/2 toffee chips with the rest of the ingredients. This is a big hit!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Delicious and pretty easy to make, too! Makes a good sized batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I really LOVE the Oatmeal Scotchies, but I saw this and since I also LOVE anything with rice crispies in it, I though.... Oh yeah, this is gonna be the bomb. Well, it bombed out at my house. THe rice krispies gave it a chewiness that was not at all pleasant, it made it seem as if they were stale, even fresh out of the oven. Our family will stick with the scotchies, they ARE the bomb! By the way, we followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
We love these! They are very different (in a VERY good way) with the crisp rice cereal. I have and will continue to make often. I love how the butterscotch chips crisp to like a hard candy for a tasty candy crunch. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are excellent! I didn't alter the recipe, nor do I think it needs to be altered. I will definitely be making these again! I'm glad I read the reviews though, because 11 minutes was definitely plenty of time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I liked these. I followed the advice of others and made sure to bake for only 11-12 minutes. I like the crunchy feel and butterscotch taste. It reminds me of a favorite ice cream flavor: butter brickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States