Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
For the most part I liked this recipe surprisingly a lot! I gave it 4 stars for I made one change: Instead of melting the butter and oil and cooking the bread in it, I left that out and just sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam and decreased the time to 10 minutes on each side. I think next time I will add cinnamon or nutmeg to the egg batter for a little more "kick"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this is soo good :D i didnt even use butter and oil when baking (save some calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We used the homemade sanfransisco sourdough bread that is also on this site and the french toast was better than any resturant I have ever eaten at delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used Captain Crunch that was crunched up instead of the Panko Bread Crumbs because that is what I had on hand. Instead of using the butter and oil, I used cooking spray. I used 1 1/2 eggs that were egg whites and this turned out just fine. My cholesterol is a bit high so I felt like this was a needed adjustment. I reduced the milk down to 3/4 C. as well. We're only a family of three and just need 4 slices instead of 8 slices. I also used Lactaid milk since my son is lactose intolerant and this turned out beautifully! I did add a little pumpkin pie spice for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I didn't have the bread crumbs that were called for, so I used my white bread crumbs. They worked great, nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasguardianangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! Very crunchy and flavorful. They were a bit greasy though, so I'll cut down on the oil next time or not use it at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is good. For a little different flavor, instead of the panko try Cap'n Crunch crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I used cornflakes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My kids loved this french toast. I added cinnamon to the egg mixture. I will definatley make this again, just not that often because it is so high in calories ;) Great weekend treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I used french baguette in this recipe, wow was it GOOD!!! I sprinkled cinnamon on one side of the soaked bread before adding the breadcrumbs. It is quite greasy/oily, I may try using less butter or oil next time. This is an awesome french toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States