Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmmbaaby
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe was great! My boyfriend and I really loved it. Instead of using the Melba toast, I substituted it with Japanese Panko and placed parsley and sliced lemon on top. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmbaaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
First of all, perhaps it’s just a personal aversion, but I did not, would not, could not use basa, “Vietnamese catfish.” Halibut was a much more appealing option to me, tho’ any mild flavored white fish such as haddock, cod or orange roughy could also easily be substituted. (Would not, could not, use tilapia either) That said…this was so good it was memorable. The sauce, in my mind, was exceptionally delicious, the ideal complement for the crispy, delicately flavored fish. I did incorporate my own tweaks – extra capers in the sauce, and Panko crumbs rather than Melba toast – not that I necessarily have anything against Melba toast. More important than the type of crumbs used, I moistened them with olive oil, then added the minced garlic and fresh, chopped parsley. I just placed this atop the halibut rather than rolling the filet entirely in the crumbs. I think all of this ensured they were extra super crispy and I don’t think using essentially half as much crumbs was any sacrifice at all. I served this with simple pasta with Parmesan and garlic and oven roasted asparagus. This meal, this fish, was absolutely, positively exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made it just like it was written. Loved the taste, and sauce as a side was great. Basa by itself is a very bland fish, but it takes on flavors wonderfully. Next time, I will experiment a bit, maybe cut out the mustard and replace it with some Wasabi instead. It will require some tweaking. Overall, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I left the hot sauce out for I was using the spicy ketchup. Worked great. Didn't use paprika and rolled fish in Iraltian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Cochrane Daly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was so skeptical of making this dinner, as me and my boyfriend really dislike seafood. But I am so glad I made this, this recipe is perfect, the fish is light, airy, and best of all NOT STINKY! The sauce was a great compliment. I served this up with garlic angel hair pasta and a side salad. A winning dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Besides substituting green olives for the capers and Keen's hot mustard powder for the stone ground mustard, I followed the recipe . . . what a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
He LOVED it - even made the "could get in any restaurant" remark another reviewer made. Used Panko - cuz that's what I had - and mashed it up with the back of a spoon. Subbed Frank's Hot Sauce & the last of a bottle of Sriracha for the Pepper Sauce - again, just because that's what I had and needed to get rid of. And I didn't measure anything, just did it to taste. I was skeptical of the side sauce and it really went well with it, but I'd advise making it first and letting it sit in the fridge till ready to serve. And I also took the Wine suggestion and opened a bottle of Chard. This recipe turned what was supposed to be an easy, quick, weeknight meal into date night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTinaDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Veneto , Italy
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I had never bought this fish before so I was glad to find such a good recipe. My husband was leary as men can be.I followed the recipe exactly except used Panko crumbs. The result was a winner, great flavour and the capers we a great idea. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a wonderful dish. I just made it for dinner. The key is really in the sauce, which sounds spicy but is not. Double it if you can, as it is thick and a little hard to spread over the fish. Also, do not put ay garlic between the fish and lemon slices, it turns blue somehow, hehe. Finally, if using bread crumbs, I recommend you toast them 5 minutes in a frying pan beforehand, otherwise the fish looks uncooked, even if it is perfectly done. This really is a wonderful recipe, sevre it with something like green beans and potatoes, you will not regret trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent fish. Scaring the hell out of U.S fish farmers who are spreading lies about the safety of this fish. Also known as Pangasia, check out the following website. http://fis.com/fis/worldnews/worldnews.asp?monthyear=&day=26&id=37400&l=e&special=0&ndb=0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAZUALKAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States