Crispy Bacon and Sweet Onion Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good technique for cooking the omelet. I only had green onions - I chopped up 3. Because they are so tender anyway, I just put them on top of the eggs to cook together. An omelet is not an omelet w/o butter, so I used that instead of the spray. Didn't have chedder so I used parmesan. I just now realized I left out the salt. Turns out it didn't need it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Perfect cooking method! The first omelette that I didn't mess up! Love the bacon and cheese combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Thank you for sharing this super easy technique! I have never had luck with making omelets, but when I saw that other readers were having luck with this method, I decided to give it a try I followed the directions exactly, and added bell pepper and banana peppers with my onion. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Seriously! Before tonight, I had NEVER made an omelet in my life. This recipe was well-written. The instructions were easy to follow, and so many reviews insisted that it involved the use of a wonderful technique. So, I tried it... Even the FIRST omelet came out great. Every omelet afterward was a success. I am very happy with this recipe, and highly recommend it for novices and the omelet-challenged. As far as the flavor goes, I only used ham, cheese, salt, and pepper; but, I wouldn't hesitate to use this technique with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desert_rat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've always been "omelet" challenged...never comes out right. This recipe has turned me into an omelet novice! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I used a slice of Jarlsberg cheese instead of the American cheese. It came out almost perfect...did have a little trouble sliding it out of the pan, think I let it cook a little too long. Thanks for such a great recipe! I will definitely be making it again...next time I'll have to remember to salt & add crushed red pepper flakes. Was very good!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious and easy! The first time I ever made a beautiful omelet without it falling apart!!! I spayed my pan, cover and steamed it, put my bacon on it(I always microwave it on paper towels, removes so much of the grease) and simply used salsa then cheddar a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes, melted the cheese with the lid on flipped it over. Just sooo good and easy, breakfast was done in like 5 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have tried seversal times to make an omelet, and they always end up as scrambled eggs, because it does not come out as planned. but this time I read the instructions and it sounded easy so decided to give it a try. As soon as the steam started, I removed the lid and was really surprised at what I saw, it looked like a fluffy souffle. I put on the cheese, bacon, and onions. swirled the skillet around, and slid the omelet out onto a plate. folded it over, let it sit a few seconds, and Voila! ate the best omelet ever. this is one recipe that I will be using over and over again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
The best omelette I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Wow!! Awesome Techique! Every time I attempted to make omelets, it was a disaster!! This was super simple, and made GREAT omelets!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I had never cooked an omelet using this method before and am really glad I tried this. It was cooked perfectly. Nice and fluffy. Hubby said it was better than ihop. :) It takes a little longer to cook it this way but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States