Crispy Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I REALLY messed about with this recipe and they were still delicious! I substituted 3/4 C flour for almond meal flour , I didn't refrigerate either, just made small balls and gently squished them with a fork. I didn't glaze or add extra sugar.I dropped the oven temp to 350 after 8 mins as they smelled cooked but left them for 10 mins. Came out a beautiful golden color and crisped up nicely on cooling . next time I'm substituting the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Crumbly dough...I followed the directions to refrigerate and slice and it was awful. Even tried freezing then slicing and dough still crumbled. Not great tasting in my opinion...will stick to almond crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yes, I'm an Almond lover- so I had to try these cookies. These are easy to make, with ingredients I always have on hand. If you can use natural almond extract the cookie will taste better- 1/2 teaspoon is enough. I also omitted the 'Cream of Tartar' as I don't like its taste. (Cream of Tartar makes cookies crispy), but mine came out perfectly without . Also I did not brush the cookie with egg white nor sprinkle it with sugar. For the rest I followed the recipe exactly - the end result was a super heavenly crispy almond cookie! Thanks Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These are excellent cookies, both in flavor and in texture. I did use butter instead of shortening - my default for cookies. I also doubled the almond extract. Otherwise, I followed the recipe faithfully - particularly in terms of instructions. Next time I will adapt a bit by making the log more slender. I prefer a smaller cookie than the 2 inch instruction produced. I rolled the log in sliced almonds - hoping for an almond-studded edge. They simply ended up on the bottom of the cookie by the time baking was done. I plan on making these again and next time will sprinkle them on the top after I sprinkle on the sugar - I used turbinado and it worked very well. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Joy. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicate almond flavor.. nice and crisp. I rolled the log in sliced almonds instead of ground.. the dough was really soft even after leaving in fridge overnight so it was tough to get these round. I might try these with butter next time as I prefer the taste of it over shorteneing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I added more almond exctact as suggested but have nothing to compare it to bec this was my first time baking these. I also reduced temp to 350 as suggested. They didn't come out that crispy probably bec I lowered the temperature. I will try leaving it at 375 next time but watch it so it doesn't burn. You can also drizzle chocolate on top or you can place a chocolate kiss in the center. If you bake with the chocolate kiss, the chocolate becomes stale-like so best to place the kisses as soon as the cookies come out of the oven. It's ok without the chocolate too. I refrigerated overnight and the texture was the same as before it went it the fridge so no need to refrigerate. I didn't like how the dough texture was crumbly. It was hard to roll into logs because the dough doesn't stick together nicely. Instead of adding the almonds to the mixture, maybe just roll the cookies in the ground almonds before baking. I've bad better almond cookies than this. My teenagers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these last year for Christmas and loved them. I'm back to get this recipe to make the again this year. Be careful not to bake too long or they will turn brown and taste burnt. Great to make ahead and bake a few at a time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were awesome! I read the reviews and added extra almond extract, also did not refrigerate and rolled dough balls in sugar and crushed almonds. They taste like a sugar cookie with a very nice subtle almond flavor. So glad I found this recipe :) I did not use the egg whites and I also baked at 350 for exactly 11 minutes and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed based on the other reviews. I hate the taste of baking soda and that's all I tasted. Possibly more almond extract would improve the taste, but I won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
very good! didn't refrigerate and roll, used scoop and pressed flat. spread w/egg white. then sprinkled w/sugar and ground almonds. very pretty cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States