Crispiest Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is FANTASTIC! Who ever thought Grape-Nuts could taste so good? After loving it as a crisp we've started putting the topping on fruit pies as well. A household favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried this and loved it. I didn't have any cereal such as Grape-Nuts so I substituted granola and cut back on the sugar by 1/4 cup (the granola was sweet). I used a mix of cortland apples and granny smith because I like a bit of tartness. It's an outstanding recipe. The crunch is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
this is an easy recipe and outstanding crunch your guest you serve it to will want the recipe It never fail's I have made it several time's and have made it with different fruit's and it is just outstanding have never gotten a complaint always someone want's the recipe... thanks for sharing it will be pasted down to my kid's and there kid's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Careful when you melt/caramelize the sugar! Its really easy to overdo. The crisp is pretty tasty. I think I will make it again, I think I would make more of the crisp on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Made it for my family because me and my children love it. My husband hates cooked apples. Even HE loved it and that's saying something. Kept it in the fridge and when wanted some heated it up in the microwave for a min and put some ice cream on it and it was STILL crispy after being microwaved. great recipe! Going to try to make peach crisp with it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was very good, and I like that the topping was crunchy (I used All-Bran Bran Buds for the cereal), but I think it could have had double the amount of apples for the amount of topping. The recipe says to use a 2-quart baking dish; I used a 1-1/2 quart casserole, which was too big. I increased the amount of cinnamon from 1/4 tsp. to 1 tsp. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt to the topping. Definitely serve hot with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I really liked the crispiest crisp part of this recipe. I didn't use the rest of the recipe so didn't feel like should give it 5 stars. I had 3 qts. of homemade apple pie filling to use so used the serving adaption to get it right - that is so helpful-thanks ar.com for that feature. I made a 9x13" pan full of deliciousness! I served it for a ladies lunch of 15 so the servings were rather small, topping it with cinnamon cool whip. Yummy and then some - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was so yummy! I put a lid over the apples when cooking them to help soften them faster. Usually we end up having to throw out larger recipes like this because it's just two of us, but we ate all of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States