Crisp Rice Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
An excellent, happy surprise! As I made these I was unfortunately prepared to be disappointed. The dough was dry and crumbly so I expected the resulting cookie to be the same. NOT! The cookie is just how I like them and don't often get - crunchy! Finally, a crunchy (and crispy too, obviously, from the Rice Krisipies) chocolate chip cookie! Hmmmm, the dry and somewhat crumbly dough made for a crunchy cookie - that makes sense! I suppose if you're not a crunchy cookie lover like I am you could always use half brown sugar instead of all white, or add an extra egg, or a little less flour, or add a little milk, any or all of which would make for a more moist, chewy cookie - or move on to another recipe altogether because this one is just fine as is and I'm sure was designed to have the appealling crunch I love. I used a 1 T. scoop which made for cute, perfectly shaped little cookies, great for popping in your mouth one after another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I loved the idea of having rice crispies in chocolate chip cookies but found the dough extremely dry and had a rough time getting them to form into a ball, I will try again with 1 cup of butter and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Really nice cookie, had to take recipe to work for fellow workers. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These cookies turned out good. They were a different kind of chocolate chip cookie, more "cake" like. I added in an extra egg, and put a cup less of the rice cereal. The rice cereal made them chewy, and crispy. I would use only 1 cup rice cereal. This recipie is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
These cookies were welcome at our picnic. Having followed the recipe exactly they seemed technically correct to me unlike what other reviewers had said. I just needed a little extra muscle in my stirring arm when making the dough and ended up mixing the chips and cereal through with my hands. Kinda messy to assemble into neat little mounds on the cookie sheet but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
EXCELLENT--I'm not sure why the others thought the dough was dry--I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough was perfect. The cookies are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I substituted the white sugar with 1 1/3 C. molasses, deducted 5 tbsp of softened butter, and replaced whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour. My 3 year old loves them, and I definitely enjoy the chocolate fix without feeling too guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
They bake up really nice looking and I didn't have any trouble with the mixture, really fast and easy. It tastes and smells pretty good. I would say this cookie is a kid's type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Love this recipe will make it again. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are great, My dough did not seem dry and I followed the directions to a tee. I did the mixing with my kitchen aid. I made a batch with M&Ms also. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States