Crisp Rice Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Decent cookies, but not spectacular. I thought it was a good idea to reduce the rice krispies a little (I wouldn't reduce by half, however), and add more chocolate chips, butter and egg for better batter. I think brown sugar would help out too with flavor, making it more like a traditional chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are awesome cookies with the right amount of chewy/crunchy texture and are great with milk. These remind me of a recipe I cut off of a rice cereal box back in the 70's and were a favorite of mine. I like to change out the semisweet chips for milk chocolate chips and add a cup of chopped walnuts to the mix. By the way, if you mix in the chips first, then the cereal, it seems to go better. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
They bake up really nice looking and I didn't have any trouble with the mixture, really fast and easy. It tastes and smells pretty good. I would say this cookie is a kid's type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
These cookies were welcome at our picnic. Having followed the recipe exactly they seemed technically correct to me unlike what other reviewers had said. I just needed a little extra muscle in my stirring arm when making the dough and ended up mixing the chips and cereal through with my hands. Kinda messy to assemble into neat little mounds on the cookie sheet but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe, one our whole family loves. We prefer to make giant cookies with this recipe. I make a few changes to this recipe: 4X batch (results in 6 cups flour and 8 cups rice crispies), cut the sugar back to 3 cups for the 4X batch, add an extra egg, and an extra cup of rice crispies (totalling 9 cups for 4X batch). This takes a very large bowl to make, and I literally mix in the rice crispies and chocolate chips with my bare hands, you have to knead it like bread or pottery clay to get it to mix, the batter is very stiff at this point. It takes a lot of dough to make a cookie, so you need a large batch if you want very many cookies. You can use this recipe to make as large of a cookie as you want, press it out to a uniform thickness of about 1/2 inch and shape the edges to the shape you want. You can fill the whole cookie sheet with one cookie - it can be fun to make, and to eat. :) For home use, I usually make 6 inch cookies. To do this I use an empty 28 oz tomato sauce can (that is about 4 inches wide), cut out both ends and use it for the cookie mold. I dump in a big spoonfull of dough and press it down evenly (about 1/2 inch thick) with my applesauce masher. This makes quick/easy, impressive/perfect, and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Looking for a recipe that used crisp rice. Read the reviews for this and noted that the mixture would be very stiff. Used a pastry knife to cut it all in rather than stir it. Added 1/2 cup shredded coconut and used brown and white sugar. Made exactly 4 dozen cookies. I would probably try for a softer batter if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papaduck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were pretty good, the dough was just a *tiny* bit crumbly...but other than they were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
EXCELLENT--I'm not sure why the others thought the dough was dry--I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough was perfect. The cookies are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These cookies turned out good. They were a different kind of chocolate chip cookie, more "cake" like. I added in an extra egg, and put a cup less of the rice cereal. The rice cereal made them chewy, and crispy. I would use only 1 cup rice cereal. This recipie is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I loved the idea of having rice crispies in chocolate chip cookies but found the dough extremely dry and had a rough time getting them to form into a ball, I will try again with 1 cup of butter and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States