Crisp Rice Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Just "OK" for us. Kids weren't impressed w/a "crunchy" chocolate chip cookie & we did end up tossing them after they kept coming home in lunchboxes untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
LOVE a crisp choc chip cookie :) Want to get creative...next time I may use 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 peppermint extracts, or use some/all mint choc chips, or maybe I'll try orange extract and semi-sweet chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very good crispy crunchy chocolate chip cookie. I made larger cookies (used a 3T. scoop) and cooked for 15 minutes. Cookies do not spread or flatten much like most other C.C. Cookie recipes. When scooping do not pack dough, cookies present better if the dough is scooped loose. Much easier to work the chips and cereal in by hand (I wore a plastic glove). Next I make these though I will reduce the sugar down to 3/4 cup because I found them to be just a bit too sweet (my preference) and hope that it doesn't change the recipe. Once cooled these cookies are crispy and crunchy all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
For me, this was a great recipe to use up my leftover holiday coloured rice krispies (notice the photo!!). I was quite pleased to stumble across it and my 4 year old was thrilled to help me make them! The dough is kind of a pain to work with (I found) and I needed to use my hands to incorporate all of the chocolate chips and rice krispies. It does appear at the time to be somewhat crumbly, but once baked, they hold together nicely and have a nice crunch from the krispies! I know my 4 year old loved them, as did the hubby and my 9 and 7 year old boys will be thrilled with the treat when the get home from school today for snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are great, My dough did not seem dry and I followed the directions to a tee. I did the mixing with my kitchen aid. I made a batch with M&Ms also. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe to a "T". Although I found the dough to be dry and crumbly, I continued onward, mixing well. I used a TABLESPOON measuring spoon to scoop out little cookie balls and dropping them onto a baking sheet, sprayed with PAM baking spray. The cookies baked nicely at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. What I had were 36 cute little CRISPY chocolate chip cookies. The cookies were a nice light brown color. I could see little rice crispy cereals baked throughout each cookie as well the chocolate chips. I am so glad that these cookies turned out well. If you are looking for a chocolate chip cookie that is crunchy and crispy-this is it! However, I suggest not altering, modifying, or changing the cookie dough in any shape or form, it will turn out fine in the end. I made these for the guys who can easily pop these delicious cookies into their mouths while working. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
An excellent, happy surprise! As I made these I was unfortunately prepared to be disappointed. The dough was dry and crumbly so I expected the resulting cookie to be the same. NOT! The cookie is just how I like them and don't often get - crunchy! Finally, a crunchy (and crispy too, obviously, from the Rice Krisipies) chocolate chip cookie! Hmmmm, the dry and somewhat crumbly dough made for a crunchy cookie - that makes sense! I suppose if you're not a crunchy cookie lover like I am you could always use half brown sugar instead of all white, or add an extra egg, or a little less flour, or add a little milk, any or all of which would make for a more moist, chewy cookie - or move on to another recipe altogether because this one is just fine as is and I'm sure was designed to have the appealling crunch I love. I used a 1 T. scoop which made for cute, perfectly shaped little cookies, great for popping in your mouth one after another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
My new favorite cookie recipe! I substituted Cocoa Krispies because they were in my pantry; had no problem with consistency of dough. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I substituted the white sugar with 1 1/3 C. molasses, deducted 5 tbsp of softened butter, and replaced whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour. My 3 year old loves them, and I definitely enjoy the chocolate fix without feeling too guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I didn't find these cookies anything special. They were a bit tasteless and too sweet. I most likely won't make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomstas

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States