Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe has become one of our favorites, I use it constantly over the summer!!! The only change I've made was instead of the red pepper flakes, I drop 1 whole hot pepper into the jar w/ the garlic and dill sprig before I pack the beans. I also make extra on the vinegar solution as I tend to buy more beans than the recipe calls for... knowing we'll use them ;) I'm so glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
i love picked green beans but i was dissapointed with this recipe....maybe i did something wrong...who knows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are great. My daughter can eat a whole jar at a time she loves them. Super easy to make as well!! I will make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Quick and easy recipe. I cut back a little on the salt. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
yep. there good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made a dozen of jars of these yummy beans and have to make more because my friends and family can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Wow, these are fantastic. Scaled by a third, and I wasn't sure how much dill to use (what is a "bunch"? I had several huge stalks I bought from a farmer's market) so I was a tad apprehensive. In the end I should have used a bit more. I used chunks of fresh cayenne peppers from my garden instead of the flakes, and added some celery seed (loved that!). I love that they are crunchy. Next time I think I'll use more garlic, and maybe a previous reviewer's suggestion of mustard seed and black peppercorns. Nummy Nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are good but I found them a bit too salty. I used iodized sea salt rather than pickling salt so I'm guessing that's why. I also added ground cayenne as others suggested but they were not at all hot. I'll try fresh jalapenos next time. Will make again with 1/2 the salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! Just enough heat and very crunchy! This recipe also works well with other veggies too- cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, or a mixture of whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Just made some "dilly" beans today (then they're ready by Thanksgiving). I get everything fresh from farmer's market. I add 1 tsp cayenne pepper to each quart size jar instead of the flakes. My family loves these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States