Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
i love picked green beans but i was dissapointed with this recipe....maybe i did something wrong...who knows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are great. My daughter can eat a whole jar at a time she loves them. Super easy to make as well!! I will make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Quick and easy recipe. I cut back a little on the salt. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
yep. there good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made a dozen of jars of these yummy beans and have to make more because my friends and family can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Wow, these are fantastic. Scaled by a third, and I wasn't sure how much dill to use (what is a "bunch"? I had several huge stalks I bought from a farmer's market) so I was a tad apprehensive. In the end I should have used a bit more. I used chunks of fresh cayenne peppers from my garden instead of the flakes, and added some celery seed (loved that!). I love that they are crunchy. Next time I think I'll use more garlic, and maybe a previous reviewer's suggestion of mustard seed and black peppercorns. Nummy Nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are good but I found them a bit too salty. I used iodized sea salt rather than pickling salt so I'm guessing that's why. I also added ground cayenne as others suggested but they were not at all hot. I'll try fresh jalapenos next time. Will make again with 1/2 the salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! Just enough heat and very crunchy! This recipe also works well with other veggies too- cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, or a mixture of whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Just made some "dilly" beans today (then they're ready by Thanksgiving). I get everything fresh from farmer's market. I add 1 tsp cayenne pepper to each quart size jar instead of the flakes. My family loves these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I make these - this exact recipe came from my Joy Of cooking book. I reduce the vinegar to 1 3/4 cups, add more kosher salt, crush several cloves of garlic and add 8-10 peppercorns and I usually use dried dill weed (cause fresh is hard to find!). I heat the water, vinegar and salt in the microwave while I am snipping the ends off of the green beans and cleaning them. I put the beans, garlic, dill, and peppercorns in the square tupperware container and pour the hot liquid over. Then I refrigerate for one week - they are ready to eat. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States