Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really easy! I just made them so my rating will be for the preperation of these. I can't wait to try them and re-rate them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made these green beans last year and had to look up the recipe again, so also read some of the reviews. First, my family loved them. Second, I used 1/2 the amount of red pepper flakes and there was just enough spice. I preferred the ones with the spice as I made some without. I also ran out of brine, so had to make more during the process. The jars in the picture are pts not half pints. This is a great recipe. I found the salt and vinegar ratios to be fine for us, and I packed the beans pretty tight in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!! This was the first time I ever canned anything and my Dad loves Dilly beans and I made a couple batched. some for him and some for my family. they were great! Only thing I did different is I added the garlic to the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The taste of these dilly beans is fine, but the recipe proportions are all messed up. There is no way 2 1/2 pounds of beans will fit into six 1/2 pint jars. I believe the author meant pint jars (1/2 quart). I used 2 1/2 pounds of beans and doubled everything and put them in pint jars. I also cut the vinegar from 2 1/2C to 2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
First time for me canning stringbeans. These came out great. Real crisp. Added alot more red pepper flakes to each jar. Probably about a teaspoon, if I were to measure. Next time I will even add a bit more because we like it on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made these a few weeks ago, & since my Ball canning book had 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, that's what I used. But an excellent condiment! Just enough heat. Very lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reJoyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Medina, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This recipe was cake. No, really. Even *I* was able to make it and not mess it up. And under a half hour, nonetheless. I made only one change and that was adding 1/2 sliced onion, divided, to both jars. That's it. Super simple. I know I have to wait three weeks to try one but I doubt I'll wait that long. It's taking everything I have to sit here and not eat one now. It smells amazing. I'll update my review once I've been able to try one. EDITED: Tried one five hours after it first went in the fridge--THE BEST PICKLED GREEN BEANS I'VE EVER HAD. EVER. BUT, next time, I'd cut back on the salt. The longer it sits, the saltier mine got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delicious, and certainly crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
i used this along with another recipe- dilly beans came out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angry butterfly
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I couldn't wait the whole three weeks to open my jars, but now that I have I can review it. They are everything they promise! Very crispy! this was my first attempt at canning, and this was pretty easy. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I put in coriander and fennel and they turned out really yummy anyway. They really are very crisp, as much as a fresh bean. I added carrots for color, and the carrots were very good, too. I'm going to make more next time. My only problem was that I didn't have enough brine, but I think that's just because I didn't pack the beans tight enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angry butterfly
Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States