Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I just took my jars out of the hot water bath so I have not tried them yet! I was disappointed in a few things though to start. I used pint sized jars because I thought that half pint, which was suggested, was a misprint. I bought 2.5 pounds green beans and cleaned and cut the ends off. They only filled 5 of the pints! Also the batch of brine only filled 2.5 of the pint jars so I had to quickly make another batch of the brine to fill the other 2.5 of the jars. I added a few rings of red onion to the bottom and a clove of garlic to each jar and omitted the pepper flakes. I wasn't sure how much dried dill weed to use so I added 1/8 tsp. Hopefully they will turn out as well as everyone else's did! I will resubmit once I have tasted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
We consistently ate a pint to a quart jar of these each week since canning season. I'm mad because I didn't can ALL of my green beans with this recipe. I save the brine and pickle store bought fresh green beans in the fridge. I actually prefer these after about a week of sitting post canning. The green beans are crisp and definite flavor. I'm a tee-totaller, but I can imagine these would make an excellent martini addition. We prefer to eat ours plain with Cabot White Sharp Cheddar or on sandwiches. EXCELLENT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerri
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Haven't tasted them yet but, they looks beautiful! I hope taste as good as they look. The only thing I did different was I used full pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
very good- I added too much dill to mine, but very good- I will use less dill next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I am really new to pickling/canning so I'm still pretty much bumbling around tying to find THE ONE pickling brine recipe. I made this as written, and, for me, it wasn't good at all. I am a huge fan of salt but this was way way wayyyyy too much. I ended up adding another couple of cups of water and probably about 2/3 cup of sugar, just to make it palatable. Glad that others have enjoyed it. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have used this recipe quite a few times with fresh green beans. My family loves how they turn out. I leave the garlic in the recipe to marinate with the pickling mixture and find that pickled garlic is a favorite of mine. This recipe is simple and nice and my kids love it when I use the pickling mixture with pickling cucumbers. Thank you, this is a delightful and easy recipe that I will experiment with, with other veggies ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Crisp & crunchy. I reduced amount of salt. Enjoy like a pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Well, I pickled the beans from our garden at camp and have to say that we waited two whole weeks there before we couldn't resist any longer...were they good? One of our guests wanted to buy a jar!!! I did put the garlic in the jar...but it wasn't there long enough to know if it made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I thought this recipe was way too salty.. I would have to work with it a lot more it didn't appeal to me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Marie Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States