Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is the same as my aunt's that we have been making for years - it's one of our family tradition, too! It's a wonderful treat - they come out crisp, tasty and not too spicy. If I have beans that are irregular, I cut them into two inches pieces and then pack and process as specified. I have also substituted several dashes of cayenne pepper or our favorite hot sauce instead of using pepper flakes. I like the fresh dill best, but have also used a tsp of dill seed or dried dill weed (or a combination of the two) if I can't get dill heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I make these - this exact recipe came from my Joy Of cooking book. I reduce the vinegar to 1 3/4 cups, add more kosher salt, crush several cloves of garlic and add 8-10 peppercorns and I usually use dried dill weed (cause fresh is hard to find!). I heat the water, vinegar and salt in the microwave while I am snipping the ends off of the green beans and cleaning them. I put the beans, garlic, dill, and peppercorns in the square tupperware container and pour the hot liquid over. Then I refrigerate for one week - they are ready to eat. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My sister-in-law gave me the recipe for these. But she adds a approx. 1/4 c apple cider vinegar. These go absolutely great in a bloody mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I use them as pickles on sandwiches. I added 1/3 a jalapeno to make it hot. To die for!!! Thanks for the recipe. It is bound to be a family fav for a long time. I have made 4 batches so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! Just enough heat and very crunchy! This recipe also works well with other veggies too- cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, or a mixture of whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a really great thing to do with green beans when your garden is full of them.. I made some up to try and to my surprise they are wonderful. My 7 year old daughter loves them, a little spicy but I also added cider vinegar with the white and I also used wax beans. Very yummy will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bridgewater Corners, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This recipe was cake. No, really. Even *I* was able to make it and not mess it up. And under a half hour, nonetheless. I made only one change and that was adding 1/2 sliced onion, divided, to both jars. That's it. Super simple. I know I have to wait three weeks to try one but I doubt I'll wait that long. It's taking everything I have to sit here and not eat one now. It smells amazing. I'll update my review once I've been able to try one. EDITED: Tried one five hours after it first went in the fridge--THE BEST PICKLED GREEN BEANS I'VE EVER HAD. EVER. BUT, next time, I'd cut back on the salt. The longer it sits, the saltier mine got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The taste of these dilly beans is fine, but the recipe proportions are all messed up. There is no way 2 1/2 pounds of beans will fit into six 1/2 pint jars. I believe the author meant pint jars (1/2 quart). I used 2 1/2 pounds of beans and doubled everything and put them in pint jars. I also cut the vinegar from 2 1/2C to 2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made up some of these and couldn't wait the 2-3 weeks before I tested them. They're really yummy and the red pepper flakes givs them a kick! I couldn't find fresh dill so I used dried. The jars would look prettier with a fresh dill sprig in each one, but I still enjoy the taste of these without the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These are great and easy. The only change I made was to add a few mustard seeds to the canning jars. Try these with martinis instead of an olive. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States