Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I make this recipe every year from the green beans from the garden. I do not like them. I just don't like the idea of dilled green beans. Luv my dill pickles. But Family and friends luv them. So they get them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was my first time ever canning green beans.....and they turned out excellent!!!! Everyone that has tried them have really enjoyed them. Thank you so much!! I will be using this recipe for years to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Boil those jars, don't just simmer, remember that canning is in part germ warfare. I live in the mountains, so I boil them for 20 minutes or so, but if you're not, 15 will do. You have to cook what's in the jars to make it safe, even if it is pickled. That said, the recipie itself is very good and even with the extra cooking, mine turn out crisp and delicious. I like them better with a small garlic clove added to each jar rather than just cooked in the brine. I also like to add about 1/2 tsp granulated sugar to each jar, it mellows the flavor without making them sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Be warned: they are SUPER salty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Turned out well, except 2.5 pounds of green beans were way too much for the 6 jars listed in ingredients. Also, a little too much vinegar for my liking, so reduce the amount a little bit. Made for family and friends and they said they enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Took the advice of some other's posts and used a bit less salt (too salty last time I made them), about a scant 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, since I had no red pepper flakes and we don't like it too spicey. Last year's batch was too spicey! I also added in a clove of garlic for each pint, not one for the whole brine batch. I got 5 heaping pints and had to make a bit more brine using, this using 2-1/2 lbs of green beans from our garden. Can't wait to try them! Every other recipe like this I've seen says it makes 4 full pints, not 6 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
GREAT recipe! Made these last year after searching for a dilly-bean recipe. These were better than the ones I grew up eating, the red pepper flakes were a great addition! Very easy to do, it was my first try with canning! I will be making some this week since I just opened my last jar today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
After making a successful batch of these a few years ago, I made 75+ jars as wedding favours. Well the wedding was last weekend, and I've already received tonnes of compliments, and several recipe requests! :) They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't have fresh dill and wasn't able to find any so I added 1 tsp dried dill weed and 1/2 tsp dried dill seed to each jar. I wanted these to be spicy so I added 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper to each jar. This is a great way to use green beans when they are on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really easy! I just made them so my rating will be for the preperation of these. I can't wait to try them and re-rate them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States