Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These cookies are great!! The only subs that I made were splenda for the white sugar, and egg substitute for the egg. Instead of the 1/2 cup of choc. chips I used 1/4 cup semi-sweet choc. chips and 1/4 cup butterscotch chips.....very yummy! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I also used butter instead of shortning. I recommend doubling the recipe as it does not make enough. Another tip is to use the Reynold nonstick aluminum foil, line your pans instead of greasing them - much easier to remove the cookies and less clean up. Next time I'm going to use butterscotch chips like my grandmother used to do with her oatmeal recipe. Simple, easy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
So much better than the recipe on the oatmeal box! My kids and husband are eating them faster than I can pull them out of the oven. While warm, they're crispy *and* chewy. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I followed recipe exactly, but left out the coconut or chocolate chips and they were DELICIOUS. So easy, too. My family's new FAVORITE cookie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These were great. I used half shortening and half butter. They turned out great. The consistency is great like the other reviews say. For my taste, the amount of oats was perfect. If there were any more, I think it would be too much. Next time I may cut back on the chocolate chips, a little too much for my taste. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
this is the BEST oatmeal cookie I have tasted.Took it to soccer today,and the parents loved them.thank you so much for a GREAT COOKIE.I have made these for 4 days straight.love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe, but I altered slightly. I used butter instead of margarine and added extra vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. With these changes, the cookies are delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Pepe Remsen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Oatmeal Cookies are the James Bond of cookies. They play themselves off as chocolate chip on the plate, and when you bite into them you realize the espionage that has occurred. Regardless, these are some of the best James Bond cookies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I figured this many people couldn't be wrong. Oh WOW these were great! I just got the last batch out of the oven. Like other suggested I used butter instead of shortening. In case I'm not the only stupid cook out there....quick oats (1 minute) can be measured equally for regular oats. I never buy the original..just thought I would throw that in here. GREAT cookie, this is going in the Christmas recipe book!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made these gluten free and vegan. I used coconut oil and maple sugar, egg replacer, 1/2 sorghum flour, 1/2 sticky rice flour and bob's red mill gluten free oats. I put dried cherries and shredded coconut in them too. They are a bit crumbly, I should have put some xantham gum as a binder. The taste is delicious though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States