Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These were great. I used half shortening and half butter. They turned out great. The consistency is great like the other reviews say. For my taste, the amount of oats was perfect. If there were any more, I think it would be too much. Next time I may cut back on the chocolate chips, a little too much for my taste. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
this is the BEST oatmeal cookie I have tasted.Took it to soccer today,and the parents loved them.thank you so much for a GREAT COOKIE.I have made these for 4 days straight.love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe, but I altered slightly. I used butter instead of margarine and added extra vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. With these changes, the cookies are delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Oatmeal Cookies are the James Bond of cookies. They play themselves off as chocolate chip on the plate, and when you bite into them you realize the espionage that has occurred. Regardless, these are some of the best James Bond cookies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I figured this many people couldn't be wrong. Oh WOW these were great! I just got the last batch out of the oven. Like other suggested I used butter instead of shortening. In case I'm not the only stupid cook out there....quick oats (1 minute) can be measured equally for regular oats. I never buy the original..just thought I would throw that in here. GREAT cookie, this is going in the Christmas recipe book!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made these gluten free and vegan. I used coconut oil and maple sugar, egg replacer, 1/2 sorghum flour, 1/2 sticky rice flour and bob's red mill gluten free oats. I put dried cherries and shredded coconut in them too. They are a bit crumbly, I should have put some xantham gum as a binder. The taste is delicious though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I used all butter and these are to die for. Make sure the butter is cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Excellent cookie, though I would be hesitant to call them 'oatmeal' cookie since the oatmeal is pretty sparse. I don't know what I would call them other than delicious. I used all butter since I never seem to have shortening and they were not bland at all. I made once without chocolate and coconut and once with both. I can't believe I'm saying this as a serious chocolate lover, but they were better plain. I also baked them an extra three minutes to give them that great 'browned butter' flavor and make them extra crispy. They're also good with a 1/2 t. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
my first batch I botched by using butter that was too soft. It was still amazing, but it was basically a really big flat cookie crisp thing! The second batch I used cold butter in, this recipe is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
these cookies are deadly they are so good. it's perfectly crisp and chewy.i will try to save some for my husband but i dont think thats gonna happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States