Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
by far the best oatmeal cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I just made this recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, and raisins instead of coconut or almonds. The texture of the final product was crisp, and had good initial taste of caramelized sugar; however, the final taste was too salty. Also, there were not enough oats in the cookies for my taste. I would recommend reducing the salt to 1/4 tsp, and increasing the oats to 1 1/4 cups or 1 1/2 cups. Also, I increased the baking time on the second sheet I baked to 14 minutes, as the dough was not finished baking at 12 minutes on the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
They have a lot of potential. As is, they were too thin, without much body. I added about 1 1/2 cups more oatmeal, and that seemed to do the trick. I love the addition of coconut, and will continue to use this in my oatmeal cookies. I also added chocolate chips and experimented with rice crispies cereal. I'll def use this as a base; I think the addition of baking powder is great for the texture. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These were the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made. I did not add raisins, coconut or chips and they were still perfect. My only suggestion would be if you do not use coconut, add another 1/2 cup oatmeal. I did that the second time I made them and they were even better. I also added 1 Tbsp. Cinnamon as I do with all my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These are the bomb!! I wrote down the recipe on a note pad, ended up skipping the baking powder...but, those cookies are the bomb. My father would have loved them (He was a cookie expert). Definately going to use this recipe around the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I swapped out coconut and chocolate chips for 1 cup of raisins. Also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice) for more flavor since I didn't have vanilla extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I bake a lot, and this is by far, the best oatmeal cookie recipe ever! I made it with choc chips and raisins, and used a small scoop to form the cookies. They came out perfectly browned and crisp in the prescribed time. The size is just right for a few bites of sweetness with tea, coffe, or milk. Also, itntakes no time at all to assemble and bake these little wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A great recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. I added cinnamon. I didn't have any baking soda so I left it out: they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I need to try this again. I used dried cherries and roasted and salted sunflower seeds as my additions. I think the sunflower seeds need to be raw, or make another choice. The cookie was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I did use the butter instead of shortening very good yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States