Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Didn't have any chocolate chips or coconuts on hand (so put a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon instead) otherwise followed the recipe exactly and they were gone within minutes!!! We have made these cookies almost every night this week (which is why we're currently out of butter now) but Definitely a keeper and am looking forward to trying it with chocolate chips and coconuts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I won a prize for these cookies! I added raisins and dried cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Increased the oats to 1 1/2 C. Also toasted the oats prior to adding to the mix. Used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter and for a different little crunch, added toffee bits. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenFWB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried this recipe without using the coconut and instead of chocolate chips I used dried cherries. Came out great! So much so that I've had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good, next time I'll make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I've been experimenting with using coconut oil as a substitute for butter or other oils in baking and cooking, and decided to give it a try with this yummy-sounding recipe, especially since it contains coconut also. YUM!!!! THE most fantastic chocoloate chip cookie ever! Perfectly chewy, not "doughy" at all. This recipe has moved to the top of my extensive list of cookie recipes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe exactly but they came out nothing like the picture. They were just a ball of hard oats. Mine didn't spread at all. They were crumbly, dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
by far the best oatmeal cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I just made this recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, and raisins instead of coconut or almonds. The texture of the final product was crisp, and had good initial taste of caramelized sugar; however, the final taste was too salty. Also, there were not enough oats in the cookies for my taste. I would recommend reducing the salt to 1/4 tsp, and increasing the oats to 1 1/4 cups or 1 1/2 cups. Also, I increased the baking time on the second sheet I baked to 14 minutes, as the dough was not finished baking at 12 minutes on the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
They have a lot of potential. As is, they were too thin, without much body. I added about 1 1/2 cups more oatmeal, and that seemed to do the trick. I love the addition of coconut, and will continue to use this in my oatmeal cookies. I also added chocolate chips and experimented with rice crispies cereal. I'll def use this as a base; I think the addition of baking powder is great for the texture. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States