Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
First, these cookies taste fabulous! I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because it's not truly an oatmeal cookie. It's more of a choc chip cookie w oatmeal as an ingredient. Plus, this is a small batch - I did not get 4 dz. I only got 2+ and I made them SMALL. I can't imagine making them any smaller to get 4 dz - it would be more of just a bite than a cookie. That said, the cookies really do taste great - 12 min in my oven made them a little browner than I prefer, but my husband likes them that way. I took the suggestion and used 1/4 butter + 1/4 crisco. I also added in some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Not enough wet ingredients! This batter was so difficult to mix, and later roll. The end product tastes awfully sugary, and there are very little oats in the cookie. I'll be finding a different recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I didn't have coconut or chocolate chips, but I did have premier white chips, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I have looked for years for a crispy oatmeal cookie recipe, my husband's favorite. Thank you so much! He loves these cookies. I did replace 1/4 cup of regular flour with oat flour & added raisins & chopped walnuts. Next time I make them, I'll add the chocolate chips & they just might be my favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used margarine, no coconut or chocolate, for 1/2 batch, raisins for second half. A little sweet for me but great for my daughters snack. Quite easy.Addicttive crunch, found it hard to put them away, even though sweeter than i would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I like my cookies crunchy and baked into a circle. These came out just right and I used only white sugar and real butter. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These cookies are just fabulous. I wanted to try them first with no tweaks. I didn't have any coconut on hand, but that would have only added to how good they already are. I would suggest trying the recipe as is, first, because you can't realistically give it a grade if half the ingredients are changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheChe
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe. I added oats and toasted shredded coconut. After rolling into balls, I used the bottom of a glass to flatten. Last, I pressed a sugar coated fork on top of each flattened cookie. They are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I was drawn to this recipe by the word "crispy" in the title. There are many recipes for soft and chewy oatmeal cookies and few for crispy, which is what I was looking for. Since I wanted a crispy oatmeal raisin cookie that spread out nicely, I omitted the coconut and used raisins instead of chocolate chips. I used butter instead of shortening. To ensure crispness, I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown instead of 1/2 and 1/2, but I think they would've still been fine if I'd stuck to the original proportions. They were nice and crisp and just a tad chewy in the very center. For the desired flavor, I added 1/4 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I didn't want them overly brown and crisp on the bottom, so in lieu of greasing the cookie sheet I used parchment paper. Next time I will go half and half on the sugars as per the original recipe, since they got almost too crispy when completely cooled, but I will keep my other tweaks. These cookies taste great! BTW, 12 min. at 350 worked for me. They were a perfect golden brown and the picture they show doesn't do the cookies justice. Almost forgot, added an extra 1/4 cup oats, too, and got about three dozen. You'd have to roll these mighty small to get four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is the BEST recipe I have ever come across, with some cinnamon and nutmeg it reminds me of the cookies in the St. Louis Arch. DIVINE I didn't have vanilla so i substituted it with pear extract instead. I also didn't put coconut or chocolate chips and I baked it at 390, because at 350 my cookies were no where near ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacarigua, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States