Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Okay....I had originally given this recipe a four star rating, since I altered it dramatically, but I just made them again following the recipe for the most part, and they came out fantastic!!! In my opinion, these are the best oatmeal cookies ever. The only changes that I made was that I added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice, upped the vanilla to 1 teaspoon, omitted the coconut, and added about 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts. They were gooooooooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Really Good!!! My husband loved them, and he's hard to please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
The best oatmeal cookies I've made on this site. I used all brown sugar and added 1/2 cup extra oats (total 1 1/4 cups oats). The cookies were perfectly chewy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
These are great oatmeal cookies. I made them for a neighborhood bake sale, and they flew off the table. I used all butter instead of shortening, because of the trans fats, and added the coconut. Everyone is requesting these, so I think I'll try them soon with both coconut and chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These are absolutely wonderful!!! I also recomend using 1/4c shortening 1/4c butter instead of all shortening, for it improves the flavor. These are great with both white and dark chocolate since the texture of the chocolate compliments the texture of the cookie. I have found a duel use for this recipe. By complete accident I once forgot to add the 1/2c of white sugar. This actually turned out almost as good as the crisp cookies in a completely different way! There were nice and chewy. I easily give both cookies 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I am both happy and relieved that these were so good! I doubled the recipe with the converter feature. In the meantime I took some butter out for another recipe. Not thinking I creamed the shortening and the butter together. I then noticed that this was the recipe that did not call for ANY butter! But with the 1 cup shortening (doubled) and 1 cup of butter that can no longer be separated I doubled the recipe AGAIN! It needed about 1/2 cup more oats too. So now I have a great mountain of cookies for tonight's party and for tomorrow and the next day, etc. But they sure are good. The other recipe I planned to make was tossed because these were so good and I now had so many. Next time I will double it correctly and 1/2 will be shortening and 1/2 butter...I like the combo from this time. Also, I did not use chocolate chips or coconut...still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made these cookies without the chips and coconut, they still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
These cookies are fabulous! I have made them several times now and they are always perfect.. soft and yummy on the inside, crunchy and well formed on the outside. I've made them with toasted almonds, raisins, dried apples, chocolate chips.. you name it and I have tossed it in, and this recipe never has let me down. Go for it.. You'll be a superstar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
the husband approved. yippee! i added some cinnamon and nutmeg, and cooked them longer for extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I found these quite bland and dry. Will stick with a more traditional recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States