Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This is the best cookie recipe that I've tried in years. I didn't have quite enough shortening so I put about a tablespoon of butter in with it, no problem. I lost control of the vanilla bottle when measuring and put probably twice as much in as I was supposed to, no problem. Didn't have quite enough white sugar so I topped it off with brown sugar, no problem. And best of all, I always forget the last batch that I put in the oven and end up ruining them, but these, even though they were pretty brown, they were still great! Unbelievable! I put chocolate chips in them, yummy. I can't wait to try some of the other suggested variations. You won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I LOVE this cookie... and so did my family. I used butter in place of shortening, and we enjoyed them without coconut or chocolate. We couldn't stay out of them! Perfect combination of crisp and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I've used this recipe twice and it's been a big hit both times. This last time I used walnuts and dried cranberries instead of the coconut and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I have tried and tested many choc chip cookie recipes and this is the best! Cookies turned out scrummy and trust me, it did not last long. My kids and husband wiped them out in one sitting! I made a cookie-mix with the dried ingredients and packed it into a pretty jar. Gave them away as Christmas prezzies and it was a hit! I used butter and left out the coconut. Added some chopped hazelnut and some of my friends thought I bot them from a gourmet pastry shop! A winner and keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
As others suggested, I used butter instead of shortening, skipped the coconut and added raisins. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
this is the BEST cookie recipe I've tried. My kids, husband, and friends absolutely love it. I changed only 2 things....I use 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening instead of all shortening. I have found that some coconut is sweeter than others, so I dont put as much as it is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I have very little experience making cookies. Tried these as I like warm yet crisp oatmeal cookies. AWESOME! Didn't have coconut and only used choc chips but I'll try the coconut sometime too. AWESOME. Don't eat too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is my standard cookie base for many different kinds of cookies BUT, I used real butter instead of shortening and I think that makes all the difference in the world. I am FAMOUS for these cookies. Ok, not famous, but my family and friends always ask for them. I have literally made this recipe HUNDREDS of times. I make this recipe at least twice a week, and have been doing so for the past 10 years or so. I know it by heart. I don't like to buy premade junk food, so I make these whenever we want a treat. I can go from "Mom, can you make cookies?" to eating them in 30 minutes or less. Sometimes I use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, or a mixture of the two. Sometimes I use all white sugar, sometimes all brown, sometimes I use succanat or turbinado sugar or a combo of any/all of the above. Sometimes I use part coconut oil in place of some of the butter. As long as I keep the ratios of fat to sugar to flour, they are always amazing. I have made this recipe dozens of times and it is always awesome! (Although they are always slightly different depending on what sugar and flour I use). Not too oatmeal-y. My kids don't like oatmeal cookies, but they don't notice it in these. Sometimes I use chocolate or peanut butter chips in these, with or without nuts. Sometimes I use coconut. Sometimes I leave out the chips all together and add some cinnamon. The cookie dough is so good, my family won't keep their hands out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmic Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow! Best oatmeal cookies in a long time. I doubled the recipe and used half butter flavored shortening and half butter. Next time I will use all butter. I add raisins and coconut. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I've had this both with and without the chocolate chips. I prefer without but had other family members like it with them. I do a double batch and that way we are both happy. This cookies are great but taste even better fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States