Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Easy recipe and very tasty. I made two batches - one rolled into balls and one with the drop method. The ball cookies turned out perfectly. The dropped cookies spread so thin that they burned and were inedible. I will be turning to this recipe again the next time I want a light and crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Exactly what I was looking for in a plain oatmeal cookie. It was quick and very easy to make. I did not add the coconut nor the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were delicious! Only made about 27 cookies though so would double recipe next time. I added the choc but not the coconut..next time would also divide batter and make 1/2 without chocolate chips...seemed overpowering to the oatmeal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Sometimes you just don't want a chewy gooey oatmeal cookie, and this is a great one for those times. It's still not my long-lost, back-of-the-Albertson's-oatmeal-box recipe, but still yummy. I followed to the letter except I was out of coconut, and did bake the first pan before adding the chocolate chips (just to try the basic cookie). They're not overly sweet or robust, and have almost a delicate texture but are not dry or crumbly at all. A little hard to mix in the chips, though -- you end up kneading the portions around in your hands as you form the balls. I think other reviewers' suggestions about dried fruit mix-ins sound great for it too, and I might toss in some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I borrowed baking powder from my upstairs neighbors and repaid them with these cookies. Their words, "You're amazing." Which means, the cookies are amazing. Cripsy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I didn't include coconut, because one of my housemates is allergic. I substituted butter for the shortening, and used semi-sweet mini morsels. I added some chopped walnuts, and increased the vanilla extract to 1 tsp, like I always do. Yummy yummy cookies! I'll make them again whenever I need to butter someone up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmilyJ
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
AWESOME!! Very chewy. my friends who don't even like coconut loved these. I will definitely rotate this new cookie recipe in with my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I used 1 C. butter instead of Crisco; I included the shredded coconut, chocolate chips, rains & chopped walnuts; I cooked these at 350 degrees. They FELL after the last minute in the oven and they look like flat pancakes!! BUT, they taste great. PLEASE TELL ME WHY THEY FELL IN THE OVEN!!! I have cooked for probably 50-some-odd years (am 78) and have not had a problem with baking!!! I even lowered the oven temp to 325 & put the rolled cookie balls in the frig to cool them prior to baking!! Nancy T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
The texture of these were awsome, crispy on the ourside and chewy on the inside. They were, however a little lacking in flavour and a little too sweet for my taste. Chopped dates are also great in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This recipe is PERFECT! I hate recipes that use up all of my butter and not the huge tub of shortening I have in the closet. I added flax seeds and it was great. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunatic23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These cookies were sooooooooo good! I have been searching for a crispy oatmeal cookie recipe and this is it. My family loves them! I've made 3 batches within this week alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States