Crisp Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Clovis
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Instead of 1/2 cup shortening, I substituted 1/4 cup butter and slightly less than 1/4 cup olive oil. Made it super moist!I also reduced the sugar. All my friends loved them. I've made them 3 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great recipe as is! Have also made it by subbing dried cranberries and slivered almonds for the coconut and chocolate chips and swapped the vanilla extract for 1/4 tsp maple extract. Either way yuuuummmyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe, will use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The dough seemed really dry. I think my biggest complaint is that the recipe said it would make 4 dozen. I would have had to have made them about 1/4 of the size(of a walnut) that the recipe called for. Also, they didn't flatten out. Just stayed in a dry ball. I followed the recipe to a T. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The ingredients in this cookie didn't seem to mix together. When the cookie was done, I could still taste all the separate ingredients. I would also suggest using parchment paper. The batch I made on my cookie sheet didn't hold together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used coconut oil instead of shortning (I NEVER use shortning or vegetable oil, always butter, lard or coconut oil). They turned out okay but they are so flat. There's absolutely no body to them. Maybe the dough needs to be refrigerated? Maybe they need more oats? More flour? Thankfully my husband loves flat, overcooked crisp cookies. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My family and I loved these cookies! I added about a tsp or so of cinnamon to the second batch I baked and they were amazing! I did omit the coconut simply because I didn't have any on had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've tried many recipes and this is by far the best. I shape each cookie by hand and make them flat to make them crispy instead of just dropping them by the spoon. I also add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans or walnuts. Thanks for the delicious recipe. Hubby loves it and he's a picky one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I did love this cookie. It disappoints in the oatmeal area because that does not dominate its flavor but its a wonderful cookie! You could add anything to the basic recipe for a variety of cookies. Just grind up your oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
First, these cookies taste fabulous! I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because it's not truly an oatmeal cookie. It's more of a choc chip cookie w oatmeal as an ingredient. Plus, this is a small batch - I did not get 4 dz. I only got 2+ and I made them SMALL. I can't imagine making them any smaller to get 4 dz - it would be more of just a bite than a cookie. That said, the cookies really do taste great - 12 min in my oven made them a little browner than I prefer, but my husband likes them that way. I took the suggestion and used 1/4 butter + 1/4 crisco. I also added in some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States