Crisp Anise Seed Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These are simply delicious and so easy to make. I wasn't in the mood to roll out the dough so I spooned the mix into balls and pressed them with a glass into rounds - then sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. I cut the recipe in half and regretted that after tasting the first cooky. They didn't last long at my house. Everyone loved them and I'll definitely be making a larger batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I knew I would like these cookies but I was unsure of my son because of the licorice taste of anise seed but he loves them! Way too go. I will be making these more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I Loved theese. When your getting ready to bake them, put the Anise seeds on your board and run over them with your rolling pin a few times, it will release more of the licorice flavor. and then you can run a sharp knife through them to chop into fine pieces, texture is better that way. I shaped the cookies into the double S shape in the picture. you can glaze them or dust with powder suger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
ok, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Family members liked these more than I did. What I do like about it is that it calls for the seeds instead of extract, which mellowed the anise flavor, making it appropriate for everyday eating, with coffee or tea. The sugar-cinnamon topping definitely adds to the cookie, and gives it a nice crunch, but also removes somewhat from its buttery-ness. I also made a few with some nutmeg added to the topping and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
The taste was right, but they were as hard as a rock. Not sure what I did wrong. Would like something a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Excellent recipe. Easy to work with. Great taste. Nice crispy tecture. I did notice the seeds when I ate the cookies, but I did not find that objectionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My hubby likes Jingles cookies at Christmas time, I thought I'd like to find a recipe that would not have all the partially hydrogenated stuff in it. He likes these. I knew I wasn't very good at rolling stuff out. So I tried rolling them into balls and then rolling them in cinnamon sugar. Came out yummy. Even if you roll them in cinnamon sugar you don't need more than the 1/4 cup you make in the recipe. I think next time, the only thing I would try is rolling them into balls and flattening them slightly. Rolling them made 54 cookies. But that isn't necessary just something I might try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Just wonderful. Easy to make, really teasty and very sweet. I try to make them with chopped almonds and gets even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapote, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: La Aurora, Heredia, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I was so pleasantly surprised how good these cookies are. They are easy to make and the anise seed is a wonderful addition. I do not like the flavor of licorice but my fiancee does so I made them for him, tastes nothing like licorice. Nice crunchy cookie with a buttery flavor. I will make these a lot, not just on hoildays! Do not try the dough.... they are better baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States