Cretons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Great recipe! However, the recipe does not mention that you cannot use lean ground pork for this (that is probably why some people found it not easy to spread).Another trick to increase creaminess: use an immersion blender after 20 min. of cooking. It improves the texture (if you want smoother cretons, that is). It taste a lot better with fresh bread crumbs as well (if using fresh, increase to 1/2 cup. Traditional recipe call for 1 cup of fresh bread crumbs, but it is a bit much for my taste). I am an unrooted french canadian, so I was glad to find this recipe, which is a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This turned out perfect! My husband is French-Canadian so we've had cretons a lot in the past. We can buy it here as well but this homemade version is going to be the new norm in our house! I would feel confident serving this to his Grandmother the next time we visit her in Quebec. I processed it for about 10 pulses in the food processor after it was all done just to break up the onions a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I am of Quebecois heritage, and this recipe is really quite good. A few things I might suggest...This is a very old recipe, and the quality of our meats have changed dramatically since these recipes originated.Our pork is way too lean to make this recipe accurately. In order to reach the proper texture, taste, consistency, I added 1/2 cup of lard (yes,lard)to the ingredients.Pork fat is imperative if you want cretons to taste/look anything like they should.We also ate our cretons with more spice than this recipe calls for. 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon.Also make sure to add plenty of salt for seasoning..I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Cretons are not the most flavorful of recipes but I like to make them more yummy by using 2 cloves are garlic and adding Parsley and dry minced green onion when they are done cooking. I also let them simmer for another hour or 2. When done, I put them in my food processor and then let them set in the fridge over night. They are great in the morning with butter on toast, with mustard and toast or regular bread for lunch, or on French baguettes alone or with butter or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe is a very old one. As with ones that are passed down from Mere Mere, pronouced "meh-may". (grandmother). These recipes vary greatly. From Cretons with spices to ones that have hardly any. I tend to like the spices, and the oldest recipe I have found includes these wonderful spices. This recipe was made for me over 20 years ago from a friend that we were stationed with in the Air Force. She was very "French Canadian" and spoke it often. Once having this recipe, I was hooked with French Canadian Cuisine. This recipe was left a little bland for me. Many have had a hard time with this one. But you must be patient with this one. It takes a long time to cook. And even if the liquid looks all gone, keep stirring and at the end when all of it is still hot, turn it in a food processor. Just to get that perfect Puree. Press it in a loaf pan. Then you can turn it out and make slices to match the size of the bread. This is a fantastic breakfast. As they say: Çé tsiguidou. (everythings A-Okay, or everythings alright)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Excellent!! Excellent!!! The trick to this not being crumbly is to pack it into a very small dish - I got all into a little 1.5 cup casserole - took some effort! Then I covered in foil - placed my other 1.5 cup casserole on top with a 4-pound ball weight in it. Came out perfectly!! Also - I was doubtful - because the meat appeared to be cooked and liquid gone after 20 minutes - but I was patient - kept it on low for rest of the hour - stirring frequently - then added the bread crumbs...worth the wait!!! Fabulous flavor!! Oh - I didn't have fresh garlic - so I used a pinch of garlic powder. I also used grey sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
What a stroke of luck to find this recipe! I grew up on this and lost my mom's recipe for it. This was such a treat when eaten on plain white bread. This transplanted Franco-American from Maine says a very big THANK YOU NANS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe for cretons!! I had a flashback to my youth recently from when I went to Quebec for an exchange program and had cretons which was a staple with the family I stayed with. I found this recipe and have made it several times. For the person who rated it before me, you may have cooked it on too high a temperature and thus lost a lot of moisture. It should simmer for about an hour, I put my burner on low. After you add the bread crumbs you should whisk the mixture aggressively. I spread it on toasted slices of french baguette with plenty of mustard. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this recipe for my husband, he is originally from Montreal, Canada, and Creton is one thing he misses terribly, he loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briansgirl75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This recipe is way too crumbly to spread and lacks flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States