Cretons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is just another variation of Cretons, which is a pretty basic recipe. I have an old French Canadian recipe, which is probably about 50 years old at least. Can't get the ingredients it calls for! I would not use milk, as it can burn. Or use 1/2 milk 1/2 water to reduce the risk if you feel the need to use milk. You do not need to constantly stir it, but make sure you cover it and cook over very low heat for about 2 hrs or until most of the liquid has been reduced. And stir once in awhile. Spice is according to taste. You can add more as it cooks or even after it's cooked. My mother used to mix in a bit of mayo to it prior to serving with thin slices of baguette for an appie. Made great sandwiches for the long drive back home. Very similar mixture/spices as Tourtiere (minus the potato!)Oh, and it freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My dad is from Maine and has been making this recipe for as long as I can remember. He called today and mentioned he'd lost the recipe. I told him I'd go on-line to Allrecipes.com and search for it. He didn't have much faith I'd find it. You should have heard how excited I was to tell him I'd found it!! Thanks Nans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I've never made this before, but it sounded like my kind of recipe, so I have no baseline. The meat had good flavor and texture. It was perfect on some baguette. Reminds me of the pate in Vietnamese Banh Mi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great basic recipe ! I am from Quebec and this is very similar to an old family recipe... Please do not try to get a "spread" smooth as creamy peanut butter (this is the stuff you find in grocery stores out of Quebec and not the real texture...). You do not need to put the cooked mixture in a food processor at the end... it just takes the spirit out of it... . It should have some "grains" and the fat will make it stick together when you spread it. Make sure you do not use lean pork and you do not need to put butter or oil in it when you start. Let is simmer for an hour in a covered pot and stir from time to time. Good luck !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My mom's family are French-Canadian transplants to New England so we love Cretons. This Cretons recipe is a great base-recipe. You can always increase the cloves and allspice for more flavor, I use at least 1/4 tsp of each, and about 3 medium cloves of crushed fresh garlic. For a more spreadable consistencey, after adding the bread crumbs I cook for about 20 min, let cool for about 10. I then transfer to the blender and blend it until the consistency is smooth but still a bit grainy. I then retun it to the pot and cook for another half hour. Pack it immediatly into a class crock or container to cool. I like to make a double or triple batch and freeze it in medium size containers so that I can use it later in meat pies. Cretons is best on crisp toast with plain yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I am of Quebecois heritage, and this recipe is really quite good. A few things I might suggest...This is a very old recipe, and the quality of our meats have changed dramatically since these recipes originated.Our pork is way too lean to make this recipe accurately. In order to reach the proper texture, taste, consistency, I added 1/2 cup of lard (yes,lard)to the ingredients.Pork fat is imperative if you want cretons to taste/look anything like they should.We also ate our cretons with more spice than this recipe calls for. 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon.Also make sure to add plenty of salt for seasoning..I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This made my house smell soo delicious! I'm not sure if the texture is right (it is pretty crumbly) never having eaten it before, but it tastes great. My children were even saying how good it smelled. I should add that I left out the bread crumbs (by accident) and I added cinnamon to the start because a different recipe used it and I love cinnamon. I plan on making this again and think maybe the bread will give it a more spreadable consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This reminds my husband of his days going to school in upstate New York. He loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This recipe works well and tastes great warm but at refridge' temps is a little flat. Bumping up the seasoning would help. This and virtually all foods prepared hot but served cold, should taste a bit salty and over-spiced to have the desired result when cold. Now can anyone who grew up on Cretons tell me what the consistency of the final product should be? My first attempt is about as spreadable as cold Peanut Butter. Thanks...JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Cretons are not the most flavorful of recipes but I like to make them more yummy by using 2 cloves are garlic and adding Parsley and dry minced green onion when they are done cooking. I also let them simmer for another hour or 2. When done, I put them in my food processor and then let them set in the fridge over night. They are great in the morning with butter on toast, with mustard and toast or regular bread for lunch, or on French baguettes alone or with butter or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States