Crescent Pastry Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stinadpete
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Pretty good, although I think if I had used a different dough like one reviewer did it would have been 5 stars. I think I just get a little tired of the predictable taste of crescent roll dough. I did not find that there were too many apples or too much filling. I also think that I might have made the cheese filling a tad bit sweeter (and I do not like my treats overly sweet). It cooked up beautifully. My co-workers appreciated it. Thanks to all the people who clarified the braiding technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made this as directed except one major change -I did not have crescent roll dough on hand, so I used a puff pastry sheet. It was super easy this way. I thought it turned out really good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for an apple themed dinner. My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Mast Troyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was a huge hit! The cream cheese filling firms right up after baking to make a nice filling (so don't be afraid of doing the whole amount). I also prefer MORE apples (with much more of the sugar and cinnamon mixed in)- there is plenty of dough to cover the apple and cheese filling. I also pre-cooked the apples for about 5 minutes in the microwave so they would be nice and soft in the pastry. Some tips on handling the crescent dough: First of all make sure your dough is straight out of the fridge and is still cold while handling. Use a LARGE cookie sheet or jelly roll pan so both cans of dough fit. Lay them out side by side (longer end of rectangle together) and pinch all seams (or even just buy the new SEAMLESS crescent dough!!). Before putting filling down the center, make cuts along the two longest sides about 3-4 inches long, and one inch wide. Then assemble filling to your liking (I liked pouring the cream cheese first and spreading lightly to be even and then spooning the apples over the top of the cheese so the apples peek through the top). To make a braid pattern- take each strip of dough, twist once and lay across the filling (it doesn't have to go all the way across, just past the middle). Do this in an alternating pattern switching from one side to the next until the whole pastry is "braided". I hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this last night, and it is an instant hit. I made half of the cream cheese and only one 8oz Pillsbury Crescent dough sheet, followed Mariam's review and had absolutely no problems. A Keeper. :) it was all gone before i could take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was looking for a quick recipe for my home canned apples from my apple trees. I love the ingredients tab on Allrecipes. I just typed in apples, cinnamon and crescent rolls, and wha la came us with yours. G-R-E-A-T. Thanks for posting, Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Just o.k. Nothing to make again. I agree with the other reviewer that there was too much oozey filling. As for the dough, store bought is better. It sure didn't braid either. It was a mess after it baked, it oozed and came unbraided. Def. will NOT make again, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Delicious! The directions are not clear on the slicing and braiding. I had trouble with that to start and realized after the first braid that the slits need to go just about all the way to the apples. My apples (granny smith) were pretty small, so I thought I needed to use 4, which was too much. I think 3 small apples would be the right amount. Those saying 3 is too much may have been using big apples, in which case I agree that would be too much. The apples were a little crunchy (they were chopped into very small pieces) so next time I will pre-cook them a little. It was good the next day too, not a soggy mess as another reviewer reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It wasn't pretty but tasted delicious! I had trouble working with the crescent dough, but it made a huge braid-style pastry. Followed ingredients and directions pretty closely. Glad I had lined the baking sheet with parchment as the filling oozed a litlle as it baked. I made this because my son loves anything apple, & I used to make similar breakfast pastry rings with crescents and cherry pie filling-thought this looked good. Will put in my special breakfasts file to make again! It doesn't even need a glaze or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
came out very good. i need a lesson in braiding, however. that part was a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brimfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States