Crescent Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I agree that cutting the dog and not cooking it first left it cold. We tried a cheese smoked sausage link, such as Hillshire Farm Cheddarwurst, since it already had the cheese inside. Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I've been eating these for...well, a lot of years (over 40). My mom used the make them for us to eat before we went out trick-or-treating so we'd have full tummies before we started sneaking our candy. She called them Halloweenies. :) We always used American cheese growing up, but trying to avoid as much processed food when I started making them for my kids, so I used cheddar. They're good either way, and they like to dip them in ketchup and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I have tried to make these twice now and both times the tops come out nice and brown, but the dough that is touching the hot dog is NOT COOKED at all :( it is really doughy. My kids take the hot dog out of the crescent roll and eat it plain. Not sure what I am doing wrong as these are nice and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Love these! My favorite for a very long time. To make it a little healthier, try turkey dogs - they don't change the taste at all (at least to me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
So delicious! A cafeteria favorite of mine! I agree with the reviewers who say to microwave the dogs first. I cooked the whole 8 dog pack for 1 minute in the microwave first before I rolled them up and baked 'em in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Easy, quick weeknight meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I have been eating and making these since before I can remember. It was the first thing my daughter cooked by herself too! We like to top them with canned chili. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bessemer, Alabama, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
THESE ARE THE BEST PIGS IN A BLANKET EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I served these to my 4th grade football team at our end of the season party and they absolutely loved them! I made some with beef sausages, some with cheese sausages and some with regular sausages. It didn't matter; they snarfed them down! Caution don't stand between the Crescent Dogs and hungry kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are the best. I've been eating these since I was a kid. I like using provolone though or anything other than processed cheese. They taste even better with a little sprinkle of garlic and chili powder on each and serve with baked beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States