Crescent Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Nice, easy dinner for families with kids. I wish the cheese wouldn't melt off as much, so I always try to stretch the crescent roll to cover as much of the hot dog and cheese as possible. Also, when I followed this recipe, the dough came out a bit underbaked on the bottom, so next time I will bake a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We added a spoonful of crumbled bacon and 1/3 of a cheese slice onto the dough, then wrapped around the hot dog. We cooked at 350 for about 16 minutes. Covering with a spoonful or two of chili to these after removing from oven is great, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naselle, Washington, USA
Living In: Grandview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this last night for my boyfriend and I for dinner. I made his with cheese, and mine without. First off, I was using hot dogs from the freezer (as I hadn't read the recipe before hand) so the dogs needed to be defrosted before cutting the slits for the cheese. I also found it very difficult to insert the cheese into the dogs. Because of this I ended up using far less cheese than called for. I had more crescent dough than I needed for the hot dogs, so I made a few rolls on the same pan. My boyfriend enjoyed his hot dogs with the cheese, and I found mine to be mediocre (but by no means was I expecting some new gourmet revelation). I'm not sure if it was the brand of hot dog, the method of cooking, or the dough wrapped around them, but our dogs were a little too juicy for our taste. However, for a quick and easy dinner this was a decent choice. I will probably make this again in the future, but would use defrosted hot dogs and probably cut a few more slits to allow some of the liquid to burn off easier. We served these with crinkle cut fries and homemade honey mustard sauce. All in all, this was good enough to give it one more shot, and I'm sure a great choice for busy mom's or a dinner-on-the-go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
An excellent unhealthy lunch, football party snack, or potluck appetizer. These are quick and easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Super fun and easy! Man cave and kid approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My little guy loves these Crescent Dogs. It's quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpurvis
Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
These are a guilty pleasure of mine. I use turkey dogs, reduced fat American cheese, and reduced fat crescent rolls. I have never heated the hot dogs first, and I've never had a problem with the rolls being too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My kids and my doggies love this quick and easy meal! I use the hot dogs with the cheese already in them. Pair with tater tots and dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nablast
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I just made these for my son for a after school snack, I was thinking he wasnt going to eat them but I looked at his plate and there was no sign of it left =) My husband told me his mom use to make them for him and his siblings {pig-n-the-blanket} he called them. Im glad I found something he actually likes! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nablast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I was very surprised when I seen this recipe. Haven't these been around forever? I didn't even know there was an actual recipe neccessary for them. I thought it was always on the pillsbury can? I used to do daycare years ago and the kids used to request that I make this sometime. I don't care for them, but they used to love them. I made them on Halloween for them to with mustard eyes. I believe the recipe is on here for that to. I think they are called mummies or something like that. I don't know what the appeal is, but kids think they are pretty neat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States