Crescent Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My friend makes these cookies and I covet them each Christmas, so this year I went in search of a recipe to duplicate. I came across this one and another on this site (Pecan Crescents). So many recipes come down to personal preference but I must say, this Crescent Cookies recipes paled in comparison to the other. The most notable difference was 2.5 cups flour here vs 2 cups flour + 1/2 cup powdered sugar blended in on the other recipe. Having the sugar IN the dough really makes a big difference in texture and sweetness and I much prefer the other version. This one had drier dough that was harder to keep together while rolling and nearly every cookie broke when I gently tossed in the powdered sugar. If you're a fan of these, but this version also isn't quite right for your tastes, try the "Pecan Crescents."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Nice but labou intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe was very tasty. However, when I was making it into dough I couldn't get it into dough form so I had to add water to the dough and even then I just used my hands to form the shape. Also in the recipe it says u need 3 tablespoons of white sugar, but in the directions it doesn't tell you when to put the sugar in. So you have to add the sugar with the flour, baking powder and chopped pecans. I also substituted pecans for walnuts but any nut will be fine. Over all they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I never got it into a dough. Something is missing from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
They crumbled after I baked them. The flavor was good, but other than that they were pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made these this morning and must say I was disappointed. They taste too floury and the dough is hard to handle. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can add? They were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious, just like Nana's. I really roll them in powdered sugar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very good but difficult to roll out. I added some water and a little milk to make the dough come together. Also added a 1/3 cup white sugar to the dough-felt it needed some sweetness and not just from the powdered sugar. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good. I made some with pecans and substituted pecans for walnuts in the rest, and both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States