Crescent Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Simply wonderful! I used a packaged almond flour to save time and agreed with other reviewers about using more almond extract (I used about 1/2 tsp). I also drizzled a little agave syrup over them once they cooled. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These brought back Christmas memories of when I was 7yrs old and my grandma use to make these for the holiday. I am 43 now and this was a recipe I didn't think existed - but use to adore these. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. The mixture was a bit too crumbly for me to work with so I added a bit of water and that helped. I could not get the crescent shape so they looked a bit different and I did roll them in powdered sugar after baking and that not only gave a great taste but made them look better as well. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I gave these a five star but I added 3 tsp almond extract, 1/4 more powdered sugar to the dough before baking and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, then after they baked I mixed powdered sugar/milk and drizzled it on top of the cookies. They would have been way to dry and bland without it! But now they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is perfect the way it is. I have made it several times. Sometimes I forget to add the extract other times I've put in as much as 2 tsp. I use frozen almonds. And pulse everything in my Cuisinart processor. I don't chill the dough and press it into form on cellophane. I use parchment paper to bake on and coat in powder sugar once baked. Family can't keep their paws off them! If you think they are too crumbly add a teaspoon or two of water or milk or an extra egg yolk. It might be a climate thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These were very good. They are not super sweet. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I toasted the nuts first to give the cookies more flavor. I dusted them with powdered sugar after they came out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Isn't this the same recipe in Cunningham's book, back in the recipe section? Curious to know if you came across a different one, though. Tried the recipe for a full moon rite and everyone loved it! Even my finicky toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTwilite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I added more extract than recommended and will add even more (1/2 ts) next time. Had some almond sliver left over from something else and they looked like a cup so I threw them in the food processor, ground them up then tossed int he rest of the ingredients. I added a Tablespoon of water to turn it into a workable dough. I really like the old world Christmas cookie flavor. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I used pecans because that's what I had and vanilla flavoring but followed the rest of the ingredients. I rolled them in confectioner's sugar after cooking. My family really loved these! Great recipe and so easy. I didn't have to put them in the fridge either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRosenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
A rather blah cookie. I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nowak

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States