Crescent Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Yay! I know this recipe; my mom used to make it. I'm very happy to have found it here. These cookies are great with a nice afternoon espresso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I've been making this cookie for years and years, usually at Christmas. Got the recipe many years ago from my sister-in-law who had a great sense of humor. Because of the shape she called these "dog doo" cookies and that's what they've been called in my home since then. I will make the crescent shape, but I also make them round, start with small balls of dough and then slightly flatten them with a fork. The powdered sugar has some deep ridges to stick to. Roll them in powdered sugar when they come out of the oven and then roll again if you want more sugar. I don't use almonds but use pecans instead. I don't grind them fine but I do "chop" them fine. You still get bits of pecan when you bite into the cookie. Overall a wonderful, rich cookie that's excellent with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were ok not fantastic but just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I love these! I forgot about the step of refridgerating the dough, but they worked well anyway. I used half butter and half lowfat margarine, and dusted them with more powdered sugar after they cooled. I also only cooked them for 14 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were very easy to make, although as previous reviewers suggested the dough doesn't need to be in the fridge for so long. Also the flavor was barely there, perhaps I over processed almonds. Overall I liked this recipe, would do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Rolled these in powdered sugar, as one reviewer suggested. INCREDIBLE. Can't stop eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
VERY tasty, I do believe I'll be making these again for Litha this year. I had to add 2 tbsp milk to make the dough come together, and I used coconut oil instead of butter (which left my hands silky smooth after all the dough shaping I did!) Lovely cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
ok. more like almond shortbread. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Time consuming, because the dough is so dry and crumbly, and you have to form them so very large, not delicate looking. But tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were really good! I also didn't have to chill the dough. I did only two things differently - added more extract, both almond and vanilla - 1/4 tsp. each, and rolled them into balls. I could of eaten the whole batch myself... it was work not too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States