Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I made the basic French recipe. Lemon and sugar! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is our go to recipe for special breakfasts. Simple to make and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I grew up with crepes and this is a close recipe to my Mom's. The key to this recipe is to get a thin batter and turn your pan so that it covers the bottom, also thinning the cooking crepe. While I agree, dessert crepes may be sweetened I would rather go for the basic eggy crepe and fill with a sweet. I made these, adjusted the recipe (little changes)and served them at a brunch for my daughters birthday. We had a savory egg casserole and lots of fresh fruit macerated to go with the vanilla yogurt filled crepes.. Thanks Erin for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Yes, it works ! I agree though that 1) butter has better flavour than oil 2) the waiting time is essential 3) the thinest the best ! You can add a little vanilla or dark rum in the dough. Hey, I'm French too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I learned to make crepes from my mother, who learned it from her mother. I have made crepes for my family for nearly 45 years and never had a recipe to follow. I use eggs, milk, vanilla, sugar and flour (unsifted). I make them in two different pans - cast iron skillet and a teflon coated skillet. Both come out perfect. My husband likes them with strawberries and whipped cream or just syrup. I prefer them with sugar syrup which is what my mother served. (2 cups sugar, 1 cup water - bring to a boil, stir until all sugar is dissolved.) It will keep forever in the refrigerator. I make a huge batch and freeze enough for 8-10 future breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levy Oldeen Roberge

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I'm sure this recipe makes a great savory crepe, but wanting something sweeter I made some adjustments. Having only one egg in the fridge, I halved the recipe. I used butter instead of oil for the batter, measuring out 1 1/2 tsp of melted butter (I didn't half that part of the recipe and it was the perfect amount!) Following the advice of another reviewer, I added 1/2 tbsp of sugar and a few drops of vanilla. I love a touch of nutmeg in my crepes, so I added a small pinch of that. I did use a blender and chilled in the fridge for about 45 minutes because I just couldn't wait. I heated my pan thoroughly before I started and used olive oil cooking spray for the pan. A 1/4 cup of batter per crepe worked great for 4 crepes, and each crepe took less than a minute to brown up just slightly on both sides. Super thin, just sweet enough, absolutely delicious. I used a small amount of strawberry preserves in each crepe and rolled them up, it was the perfect midnight snack! One day I'll make this recipe as is for a savory meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious crepes! I was a bit skeptical about just tossing the ingredients together; I didn't want to have flour clumps in the crepes... These crepes were perfect, very easy to make, very thin, and no clumps! I didn't refrigerate them at all and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful & easy! I substituted a mixture of 1/2 quinoa flour & 1/2 all-purpose flour for the flour & hemp milk for the milk. My Magic Bullet blended it all up & voila! We made a platter of sauteed mushrooms, roasted red peppers, diced rotisserie chicken, caramelized onions, sauteed asparagus, and goat cheese, and let our guests stuff the crepes themselves!! It was a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and fast! thanks for sharing!!! love'em! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States