Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I know someone's gonna kick me for this review but this was a near-disaster. Perhaps it's because I scaled this to serve 6 but no one was thrilled with this. I even cooked it longer and added addtl cornstarch to thicken but it was very liquidy and VERY bland. I even added some chili powder and a dash of cayenne per other suggestions to spice it up but we were still not happy. "Louisanna Shrimp Creole" also found on this site - we think - is much better. Ediable? Yes. But I almost cried as I tossed out the leftovers (alot)...esspecially since shrimp was involved. I wish I could brag this recipe up, but I just can't...but perhaps it would have worked better had I just done the 2 servings (but then, it wouldn't have fed my family). Ahhh, I guess you can't win them all!? Thanks just the same for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Very delicious. I used butter instead of bacon fat and it still turned out great. My husband and I have been fighting over the leftovers ever since I made it last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish with white rice. It turned out perfectly and tastes great. The only thing I did differently is that I sauted the onions, peppers and garlic in a mixture of butter & oil before adding the flour into the butter/oil. I added oil to keep the butter from burning. I highly recommend this recipe..it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maxine774
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Shrimp Creole has always been a mainstay in our southern family. I will have to say that adding the bacon to the mix is what really turns this dish into a gourmet crowd pleaser!We cook the shrimp for a maximum of 10 minutes,to avoid the rubbery texture. Also, we were lavish with the cayenne pepper.Served over white long grain rice . bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxine774

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use olive oil instead of bacon fat because I very rarely have that on hand and then as others suggested browned the onionfirst. I also use red,yellow and orange peppers since I don't care for green. For that extra kick a dash of crushed red pepper. The left overs are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This was very good. I added some cayenne pepper and a little bit of hot sauce as well. Very easy to make. Tasted a bit sweet, I guess it was due to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Surprisingly delicious. I added celery and replaced bacon fat with olive oil and bacon bits. It's so easy to make, I can even make this during work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This recipe is really easy to make. I had to add 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp. tabasco to spice it up a little. But great flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Family thought this was so yummy i have been waiting years for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Awesome! Had never taken time to make a real roux before and I think that made all the difference in giving it a rich flavor. Made modifications due to what I had and other reviews: used one can stewed and one can diced tomatoes, roasted red pepper in water in place of green, 2 heaping tsp. of jar minced garlic, a few shakes of Tabasco, a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and only 1/2 cup of water. Forgot the parsley. Served it over a brown/wild rice mix and it was fantastic! I discovered that while shrimp is frozen the tail shells pull right off. Will be a regular meal for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States