Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Pretty good. Works quite well as leftovers too. I omitted the bacon fat. Served over rice to absorb the sauce that remains; I also tried wrapping it in lettuce but that was a mess and I don't think the lettuce flavor complemented the dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use olive oil instead of bacon fat because I very rarely have that on hand and then as others suggested browned the onionfirst. I also use red,yellow and orange peppers since I don't care for green. For that extra kick a dash of crushed red pepper. The left overs are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I know someone's gonna kick me for this review but this was a near-disaster. Perhaps it's because I scaled this to serve 6 but no one was thrilled with this. I even cooked it longer and added addtl cornstarch to thicken but it was very liquidy and VERY bland. I even added some chili powder and a dash of cayenne per other suggestions to spice it up but we were still not happy. "Louisanna Shrimp Creole" also found on this site - we think - is much better. Ediable? Yes. But I almost cried as I tossed out the leftovers (alot)...esspecially since shrimp was involved. I wish I could brag this recipe up, but I just can't...but perhaps it would have worked better had I just done the 2 servings (but then, it wouldn't have fed my family). Ahhh, I guess you can't win them all!? Thanks just the same for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This recipe was great...I had added V8 instead of tomato sauce and it turned out wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This recipe is really easy to make. I had to add 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp. tabasco to spice it up a little. But great flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
very easy recipe on a short notice. didn't add the tomatoes, used a mixture of seafood. added chilis, green beans and spinach. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish with white rice. It turned out perfectly and tastes great. The only thing I did differently is that I sauted the onions, peppers and garlic in a mixture of butter & oil before adding the flour into the butter/oil. I added oil to keep the butter from burning. I highly recommend this recipe..it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Really good! I usually don't like shrimp with tomato(paste) but this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This was very good. I added some cayenne pepper and a little bit of hot sauce as well. Very easy to make. Tasted a bit sweet, I guess it was due to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Family thought this was so yummy i have been waiting years for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States