Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I used to make this recipe myself but without the green bell pepper, but I think adding it would make it perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I'm not sure there is anything you can do to this recipe that would mess this up. It's foolproof and delicious!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that is now in our weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maxine774
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Shrimp Creole has always been a mainstay in our southern family. I will have to say that adding the bacon to the mix is what really turns this dish into a gourmet crowd pleaser!We cook the shrimp for a maximum of 10 minutes,to avoid the rubbery texture. Also, we were lavish with the cayenne pepper.Served over white long grain rice . bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxine774

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Pretty good. Works quite well as leftovers too. I omitted the bacon fat. Served over rice to absorb the sauce that remains; I also tried wrapping it in lettuce but that was a mess and I don't think the lettuce flavor complemented the dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use olive oil instead of bacon fat because I very rarely have that on hand and then as others suggested browned the onionfirst. I also use red,yellow and orange peppers since I don't care for green. For that extra kick a dash of crushed red pepper. The left overs are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I know someone's gonna kick me for this review but this was a near-disaster. Perhaps it's because I scaled this to serve 6 but no one was thrilled with this. I even cooked it longer and added addtl cornstarch to thicken but it was very liquidy and VERY bland. I even added some chili powder and a dash of cayenne per other suggestions to spice it up but we were still not happy. "Louisanna Shrimp Creole" also found on this site - we think - is much better. Ediable? Yes. But I almost cried as I tossed out the leftovers (alot)...esspecially since shrimp was involved. I wish I could brag this recipe up, but I just can't...but perhaps it would have worked better had I just done the 2 servings (but then, it wouldn't have fed my family). Ahhh, I guess you can't win them all!? Thanks just the same for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This recipe was great...I had added V8 instead of tomato sauce and it turned out wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This recipe is really easy to make. I had to add 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp. tabasco to spice it up a little. But great flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
very easy recipe on a short notice. didn't add the tomatoes, used a mixture of seafood. added chilis, green beans and spinach. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish with white rice. It turned out perfectly and tastes great. The only thing I did differently is that I sauted the onions, peppers and garlic in a mixture of butter & oil before adding the flour into the butter/oil. I added oil to keep the butter from burning. I highly recommend this recipe..it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States