Creole Seasoning Blend Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
@Forever Endeavor12 How did you expect it to taste if you didn't use the ingredients instructed. Using Chili Powder will make this seasoning taste drastically different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This spice blend was a first try for me, and I slapped it on some nice plain white rice. It wasn't particularily bad, but it just didn't have a nice appeal to my taste buds. Not to say it was horrible, it's just alright. Didn't have cayenne or white pepper, substituted with some Chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forever Endeavor12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent! Will add to my permanent collection. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Perfectly simple and way less expensive than buying the spice itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I'd rather control the salt myself so I left it out and, in deference to Hubs' sensitive innards, I cut way back on the cayenne. This is a little heavy on the oregano for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We used this on tilapia to make blackened fish. It was overall quite good, but too salty for my tastes. First, I made the recipe as written, but I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon (to make it kid friendly). My kids really liked it (even though they said it was spicy, they still ate it up!!). Then, I made my husband's and my fish, by adding back about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne to the remaining mixture. I thought the spiciness level was good, maybe even a little much (just personal preference). Overall it was good, but I gave it 4 stars because I felt it was way too salty as written. I will make it again, though, but with much less salt. You can always add salt once it's cooked, but you can't take it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great! Made it as recommended and it sure had a nice kick to it! My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is the best thing I've ever found on AllRecipes. I took a large used onion powder jar, filled it with this blend, and colored and taped a Creole Seasoning label onto it. Bay leaves are also good to add to the jar, and to the pot. I have already had to remix and refill it! Thank you Joslyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Skipped the salt, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States