Creole Seasoning Blend Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a wonderful spice blend. When I first read the ingredients I thought this had way too much heat, but I was wrong, it's the perfect balance. I have several Cajun recipes that this works so well on. I've tried Emeril's "Essence" and several other store-bought creole-blends, but this is by far the best. Thank you Joslyn for a true 5 star seasoning blend. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Thank you for trying my original Creole Seasoning Blend, and for your reviews. While Creole seasonings all have similar ingredients, the combinations and ratios do differ. I was never happy with the commercial blends so, through trial and error, I came up with a blend that has a good amount of heat while still allowing the flavors of the spices and herbs to come through. I’m flattered that “gumbopages.com” has chosen my original recipe to post on their website, although they tweaked the recipe a bit by adding celery seed and omitting the salt. Creole recipes always start with a roux and “The Holy Trinity,” which consists of approximately equal amounts of diced onion, diced celery, and diced bell pepper, so for me; I don’t feel celery seed is needed in this blend. I realize some of you may be on salt restricted diets though, and you can certainly reduce the amount of salt, or omit it completely. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a great spice blend that I use all the time, especially on barbecued foods. I ran across it in a magazine and it is apparently one of Emeril's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I used smoked paprika and used 1/2 t less cayenne because I thought it'd be too hot. Next time I make this I'd used the full amount of cayenne, it wasn't too spicy. Really good pressed onto salmon filets and baked or grilled, and really good mixed into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Excellent. I used whole dried spices and crushed them to obtain the most intense flavors. Thanks for sharing--this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful. This is a definite in our recipe box. Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5-star. Tastes just like a certain famous chef's version available in the store. I like this version a bit better - BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
5 star recipe! This one should be in your recipe box, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Fantastic and versatile seasoning blend. I used in the Oven Baked Jambalaya but could be used in place of seasoning salt in any recipe. I scaled it down to 5 servings and it made plenty for my recipe with some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 181-190 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States